4
\$\begingroup\$

A warlock character has a Rod of the Pact Keeper +1 and a Rod of the Pact Keeper +2: can they attune to the two rods, since one is a +1 and the other a +2?

If they can attune to both rods, can they use both to regain a spell slot from each, for two slots regained?

\$\endgroup\$
16
\$\begingroup\$

Additionally, a creature can't attune to more than one copy of an item.

DMG 138

As both items are referred to with the same name (as opposed to the +2 being called Greater Rod of the Pact Keeper or such) this rule could be called into effect. However what constitues the "same" item is not clarified, so this is not strictly RAW.

So RAI points to a character being unable to attune to both.

If the GM decides that he considers these items different and allows attunement, both could be used once per long rest to regain a spell slot, just as any other pair of items could be used independently of each other.

\$\endgroup\$
  • 6
    \$\begingroup\$ That's RAW, not just RAI. Consider that the section on Attunement says “For example, a creature can't attune to more than one ring of protection at a time.” — notice that it's any ring of protection regardless of bonus, not “… more than one ring of protection +1…”. \$\endgroup\$ – SevenSidedDie Jan 13 '17 at 17:38
  • 6
    \$\begingroup\$ Seven, there is no such a thing as a ring of protection +1. It simply does not exist in 5e. There is only a ring of protection, so this is, unfortunately, not a good piece of evidence. I read the sections in question and noted the example - it was just as nebulous. If we assume that a Rod otPK +1 is the same (a copy as the text states) as a +2, then that means it's the same as a +3.. which it is not. Hence, my confusion on the topic and the request for assistance. \$\endgroup\$ – Trance Kat Jan 13 '17 at 18:20
  • \$\begingroup\$ @TranceKat, you can type @<Name> to send the person a notification that you've responded. \$\endgroup\$ – Tin Man Jan 13 '17 at 19:41
  • 2
    \$\begingroup\$ @TranceKat by that same logic, a RotPK is listed as one entry in the DMG, rather than separate. So they are the same item, regardless of bonus given. \$\endgroup\$ – daze413 Jan 14 '17 at 0:43
1
\$\begingroup\$

RAI is clear. Crawford considers both to have the same name. (Sage Advice.)

Because this is a Crawford twitterant (from the early period) some would consider this RAW.

\$\endgroup\$

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.