8
\$\begingroup\$

So in the PHB it says for Paladins "Channel Divinity" you choose which option to use, you must then finish a short or long rest to use your channel divinity again.

I'm doing Oath of the Ancients, which has "Nature's Wrath" (an ensnare) and "Turn the Faithless". However neither one says anything about "an option" to do.....so....do these get restored on a long or short rest?

\$\endgroup\$
1

1 Answer 1

23
\$\begingroup\$

Channel Divinity is a resource that both Nature's Wrath and Turn the Faithless consume.

As is written in the text for both Nature's Wrath and Turn the Faithless:

You can use your Channel Divinity to ...

And the Channel Divinity text:

Your oath allows you to channel divine energy to fuel magical effects. Each Channel Divinity option provided by your oath explains how to use it. When you use your Channel Divinity, you choose which option to use.

You must then finish a short or long rest to use your Channel Divinity again. Some Channel Divinity effects require saving throws. When you use such an effect from this class, the DC equals your paladin spell save DC.

Emphasis mine. Note that Channel Divinity is just a resource that you can spend on different options, much like Spells and Spell Slots, and that resource is refreshed on a short or long rest.

\$\endgroup\$
1
  • 2
    \$\begingroup\$ The comparison to spell slots feels very helpful. \$\endgroup\$
    – Levi
    Commented Jan 13, 2017 at 18:54

You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .