3
\$\begingroup\$

The conditions shaken, frightened, and panicked are related fear effects. Does only the worst condition apply because of this, or would being shaken and panicked give you a -4 on stuff?

I ask because there are lots of ways to end up with one of the conditions, and many effects talk about increasing the effect, but I havent seen any rules that say you can only be in one state of fear.

\$\endgroup\$
9
\$\begingroup\$

The cumulative effects of fear are better defined in Special Abilities on Fear. The main point is this:

Fear effects are cumulative. A shaken character who is made shaken again becomes frightened, and a shaken character who is made frightened becomes panicked instead. A frightened character who is made shaken or frightened becomes panicked instead.

It's unfortunate that these cumulative effects aren't clearer in the descriptions of the conditions shaken, frightened, and panicked.

\$\endgroup\$
  • \$\begingroup\$ That is good to know, and also makes creating the spreadsheet effects much easier. \$\endgroup\$ – Fering Jan 14 '17 at 1:42

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.