8
\$\begingroup\$

I've been searching and searching, and I cannot find a clear answer to this question:

If I take Maximize Spell-Like Ability and apply it to "Eldritch Blast," giving me 3 casts per day of maximized "Eldritch Blast," and I apply an eldritch essence, for example turning the blast into "Brimstone Blast," am I allowed to maximize the "Brimstone Blast" or is it no longer the same spell-like ability?

Thanks!

\$\endgroup\$
2
\$\begingroup\$

The description of Eldritch Blast (Sp) states:

If you apply a blast shape or eldritch essence invocation to your eldritch blast...

This text suggests that blast shapes are applied to the Eldritch Blast, they are not independent SLAs. This is supported by other text in the description of Eldritch Blast:

...the feat Ability Focus (eldritch blast) increases the DC for all saving throws (if any) associated with a warlock’s eldritch blast by 2.

Since the basic Eldritch Blast has no DCs associated with it, we can only conclude the authors are referring to EBs modified by blast shapes and essences.

Therefore, the spell-like ability being used is still Eldritch Blast, even when Brimstone Blast is applied to it. So your Maximize SLA feat works just fine.

\$\endgroup\$
  • \$\begingroup\$ Can you provide a better citation of RAW, rather than quoting something that doesn't really get your point across? \$\endgroup\$ – Zangief Jan 17 '17 at 15:18
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ I’m away from my books, but I could swear I remember some statement about Ability Focus (eldritch blast) (or maybe it was Ability Focus (invocations) for all of them) that might be used as a solid precedent to strengthen this answer. \$\endgroup\$ – KRyan Jan 17 '17 at 15:23
  • \$\begingroup\$ @KRyan found it, added to answer. \$\endgroup\$ – SPavel Jan 17 '17 at 15:51
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ @Zangief updated the question with another rules quote, if you found that one unconvincing. \$\endgroup\$ – SPavel Jan 17 '17 at 15:51
  • 2
    \$\begingroup\$ Welcome to D&D! We do our best to untangle conflicting rules, but sometimes all you can do is make your case and see how it goes. \$\endgroup\$ – SPavel Jan 18 '17 at 0:42
1
\$\begingroup\$

From my reading of Brimstone Blast, it changes Eldritch Blast into Brimstone Blast, so would require a separate Maximize Spell-like Ability feat.

This eldritch essence invocation allows you to change your eldritch blast into a brimstone blast.{...}

-Complete Arcane page 132

\$\endgroup\$
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ Considering that this is somewhat ambiguous, and this is not tagged [rules-as-written] anyway, it would improve this answer to discuss the balance considerations for ruling one way or the other. The warlock is a rather weak class, so it certainly seems to me that multiplying its feat taxes is a very bad idea. \$\endgroup\$ – KRyan Jan 19 '17 at 14:56
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ Though, as @SPavel points out, the balance consideration is not that straightforward, since eldritch blast and brimstone blast being separate also implies you get to choose something eldritch blast-like for multiple copies of the feat, allowing you to use the feat more than you would otherwise. \$\endgroup\$ – KRyan Jan 19 '17 at 16:18
  • \$\begingroup\$ Yes, I wouldn't like to try and work out the balance either way, though I feel it's less powerful having a small collection of meta-abilities rather than a few uses of any meta-ability (similar to sorcerer vs wizard spells, wizard is stronger because they have a bigger toolkit to work with). But as I say, it's a muddy problem and I'd probably stick with what I perceive to be RAW in this case, \$\endgroup\$ – gaynorvader Jan 19 '17 at 16:24
0
\$\begingroup\$

No, it is still modifiable by the [Maximize Spell-Like Ability] Feat.

The Brimstone Blast augments the Spell-Like Ability Eldritch Blast to deal 2d6 fire damage. It does not change the effect type from Spell-Like to anything else. You may perform the [Maximize Spell-Like Ability] Feat with the newly augmented [Brimstone] Eldritch Blast (and subsequently deal the maximum 12 fire damage when striking and the maximum 12 fire damage when caught on fire).

\$\endgroup\$
  • 2
    \$\begingroup\$ Maximize Spell-like Ability et al. require that you choose one spell-like ability for it to work with. The question is not whether brimstone blast makes eldritch blast no longer eligible for Maximize Spell-like Ability in general, but rather whether or not you need to take Maximize Spell-like Ability twice, once for eldritch blast and again for brimstone eldritch blast. \$\endgroup\$ – KRyan Jan 17 '17 at 13:46
  • \$\begingroup\$ @KRyan has a good point. "This eldritch essence invocation allows you to change your eldritch blast into a brimstone blast." That specific language says X becomes Y. It doesn't say X becomes X+Y. \$\endgroup\$ – Zangief Jan 17 '17 at 15:13

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.