14
\$\begingroup\$

A Reserve Ioun Stone can store up to three levels worth of spells and can be used by anyone.

While the spell uses the same stats as the original caster (DC, spell attack, and ability modifier, slot used if upcast) the follow up text says that the spell is treated as if cast by you.

Does this mean I could hire a wizard to cast Find Familiar three times into the stone and pass it around the party, giving everyone a free familiar?

\$\endgroup\$
  • 2
    \$\begingroup\$ Hi Steve, and welcome to the site. Check out our tour to see how we work around here. Could you clarify which game and edition you're asking about? This sounds like it's either D&D or Pathfinder, and if it's D&D I'm not sure which edition it would be. If it's the very latest edition, that would be D&D 5e. \$\endgroup\$ – doppelgreener Jan 19 '17 at 18:25
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ Sorry about that, first time post. We are playing D&D 5e. \$\endgroup\$ – Steve Jan 19 '17 at 18:26
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ Thanks for clarifying. We have tags we use to indicate game and edition, so Oblivious Sage has helpfully added the [dnd-5e] tag to this question. Enjoy your stay here! Whenever you reach 20 reputation, you'll also be able to join us in Role-playing Games Chat should you wish. \$\endgroup\$ – doppelgreener Jan 19 '17 at 18:28
  • \$\begingroup\$ Good first question! \$\endgroup\$ – KorvinStarmast Jan 19 '17 at 19:09
13
\$\begingroup\$

Rules text does not prevent this use of the Ioun Stone

Unless a DM rules that there is a limit, casting Find Familiar from the Reserve Ioun stone provides a familiar per the spell description.

Any creature can cast a spell of 1st through 3rd level into the stone by touching it as the spell is cast. (SRD p. 227)

Your PC's are creatures and thus qualify under "any creature."

The spell description for Find Familiar (SRD p. 149) does not impose any limit on class or race. With no specific prohibition, there's no reason not to allow it beyond a DM's preference for a particular world.

A hard requirement that you didn't address in your question is that each character in turn needs to attune to the stone in order to cast the find familiar spell. (SRD p.227). That will take at least three short rests to accomplish.

Ioun Stone Wondrous item, rarity varies (requires attunement)

How to attune the stone: one short rest per player character

Attuning to an item requires a creature to spend a short rest focused on only that item while being in physical contact with it ... at the end of the short rest, the creature gains an intuitive understanding of how to activate any magical properties of the item, including any necessary command words. An item can be attuned to only one creature at a time (SRD p. 206)

\$\endgroup\$
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ Your quote says into not out of... is there another quote about out of the stone? \$\endgroup\$ – Voromir Kadien May 25 '18 at 15:18

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.