1
\$\begingroup\$

I am a cleric who recently had their holy symbol stolen from them (my backup was in my backpack). I needed to cast a spell. From my list of prepared spells I had summon monster, which has both a focus and DF. As a divine spellcaster am I allowed to cast the spell using its focus instead of the divine focus?

\$\endgroup\$
9
\$\begingroup\$

To cast a divine spell that possesses a divine focus (DF) component, a typical caster must employ a divine focus even if the same spell also possesses an arcane focus component

On Magic on Components on Divine Focus says

If the Components line [of a spell] includes F/DF or M/DF, the arcane version of the spell has a focus component or a material component (the abbreviation before the slash) and the divine version has a divine focus component (the abbreviation after the slash).

In other words, a typical divine caster cannot opt to use the arcane focus instead of a divine focus. For example, a typical level 1 cleric must have a holy symbol to cast a summon monster spell, while a typical level 1 wizard must have a tiny bag and a small candle.

Note: A spell's Components entry can be confusing because sometimes a spell (like the summon monster spells) seems to require a divine focus other than a the cleric's typical divine focus, when, in actuality, the spell doesn't. For example, a summon monster spell's components of V, S, F/DF (a tiny bag and a small candle) include only the necessary arcane focus, boldly assuming the reader knows that the divine caster will need, instead, his divine focus. However, some spells mandate only a focus (e.g. the destruction spell), and both arcane and divine casters must employ such a focus! This isn't helped by a spell like scrying that's just all sorts of confusing. In fact, I find a spell's whole Components entry an alienating jargon issue that I hope is one day cleaned up for ease of use.

\$\endgroup\$
  • \$\begingroup\$ And what does a level 1 wizard/level 1 cleric multi-class need? \$\endgroup\$ – Dale M Jan 22 '17 at 12:33
  • \$\begingroup\$ @daleM what do you mean there? as both spell lists are separate from each other......summon from wizard needs different things than the summon form cleric \$\endgroup\$ – Thomas E. Jan 22 '17 at 13:03
  • 2
    \$\begingroup\$ @DaleM: That depends on which class you're using to cast a particular spell. Divine spells require devine components, arcane spells require the arcane components, as mentioned in the entry of each spell. Note: losing your Devine Focus is about the worst that can happen to a Cleric, don't be surprised if some atonement is in order. \$\endgroup\$ – agodwithoutananswer Jan 22 '17 at 13:13
  • \$\begingroup\$ @DaleM A divine focus to cast his cleric summon monsters but, instead, a tiny bag and small candle to cast his wizard summon monsters . I thought title, though long, was clear. Should I clarify that? \$\endgroup\$ – Hey I Can Chan Jan 22 '17 at 17:25
  • 2
    \$\begingroup\$ @agodwithoutananswer While the holy symbol has "spiritual significance," I've not heard that losing one requiring a creature to atone for its loss. It's 1 gp; just buy a new one. In fact, why by level 2 a cleric didn't have a dozen secreted about his person (like the Joker does knives) seems, to me, a bit strange! This probably comes down to playstyle, though, so it's cool. \$\endgroup\$ – Hey I Can Chan Jan 22 '17 at 17:29

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.