12
\$\begingroup\$

In 5e: can someone physically walk through a flaming sphere, unimpeded (assuming they can stand the heat).

FWIW: a flaming sphere 'occupied' a square in 4e, and in earlier editions it was considered 'spongy', but I'm not positive how it might function now in 5e.

\$\endgroup\$
5
\$\begingroup\$

No, you may not.

The spell specifically states that:

A 5-foot-diameter sphere of fire appears in an unoccupied space of your choice within range and lasts for the duration. Any creature that ends its turn within 5 feet of the sphere must make a Dexterity saving throw. The creature takes 2d6 fire damage on a failed save, or half as much damage on a successful one.

If you ram the sphere into a creature, that creature must make the saving throw against the sphere’s damage, and the sphere stops moving this turn.

When you move the sphere, you can direct it over barriers up to 5 feet tall and jump it across pits up to 10 feet wide. The sphere ignites flammable objects not being worn or carried, and it sheds bright light in a 20-foot radius and dim light for an additional 20 feet.

This clearly speaks to the sphere's solidity. It's an object that has to move around obstacles, and leaps over pits (note it says jumps, not hovers). On top of that, it distinctly states that creatures within 5 feet of it, but does not state anything about ending it's turn in the spheres square.

\$\endgroup\$
  • \$\begingroup\$ If you're in its space, you're within 5 feet. Also you've possibly rammed it into yourself. (actually, the "ram" bit also supports its solidity) \$\endgroup\$ – Adeptus Jan 24 '17 at 3:03
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ Um. I just read the description again, and the only thing that sort of speaks to the sphere's solidity is the second paragraph, and even then it sounds like the verb ram only implies solidity. Likewise, just because the sphere rolls along the ground doesn't mean it's solid. (My fear is that folks will want to use the spell to create an impenetrable barrier!) \$\endgroup\$ – Hey I Can Chan Jan 24 '17 at 19:38
  • \$\begingroup\$ Well, since my Barbarian's description doesn't explicitly SAY he's solid, I guess I can walk through him then. The rules don't say what you can't do, they say what you can. The sphere says nothing about walking through it, and the text heavily implies it's extremely solid (ramming it into people, having to go around or over objects) so it's not assumed you can just traverse through it. \$\endgroup\$ – Lino Frank Ciaralli Jan 25 '17 at 3:31

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.