7
\$\begingroup\$

Level 20 is the max level before epic levels in D&D 3.5e and some games don't even use epic levels, so if you apply a template with a level adjustment (e.g ghost with a LA of +4) at level 20 what happens? Does the LA just do nothing as no more leveling up will occur or is it impossible to apply the template?

\$\endgroup\$
  • \$\begingroup\$ Hi Dan, and welcome to RPG Stack Exchange. Check out our tour to see how we work, and when you reach 20 reputation, you can join us in Role-playing Games Chat. \$\endgroup\$ – doppelgreener Jan 25 '17 at 23:54
8
\$\begingroup\$

Nothing. Your ECL is 20 + the LA, which is used to calculate the XP necessary for the next level, but there is no XP necessary for the next level because there is no next level, so your ECL no longer has any relevance.

\$\endgroup\$

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.