I'm a level 6 Bladesinger Wizard. I have Haste cast on myself. I am wielding two shortswords. If I use my action to Cast a Spell, such as Booming Blade, and use my additional action granted by Haste to Attack, can I use the bonus action attack granted by two-weapon fighting?

I have considerations on either side. Two-weapon fighting requires you to take an Attack action. It seems that Haste grants an Attack action, but it is modified and limited, and those limits may extend to two-weapon fighting as well.


1 Answer 1



Two-Weapon Fighting
When you take the Attack action [...]
(PHB, p. 195)

The target [...] gains an additional action on each of its turns. That action can be used only to take the Attack [...] action.
(PHB, p. 250)

This is pretty straight-forward. Haste doesn't grant you an additional attack, but a real action, which you can use to do one of the mentioned things, including taking the Attack action. The fact that it is limited doesn't change that it would be a real Attack action. Two-Weapon Fighting is triggered by taking the Attack action, so this works. Also, the extra attack from Two-Weapon Fighting happens as part of your Bonus action, so the limitation to 1 (one) attack during the action granted by Haste doesn't apply to that.

Of course, the usual caveats apply; You need two different weapons, both weapons must be light unless you got the feat, and you can't have used your Bonus action already.


You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .