19
\$\begingroup\$

As I was looking through some legendary creatures, I had a thought. Most legendary creatures get three Legendary Resistances per day, which they can use to automatically succeed on a saving throw.

A Concentration check is technically a Constitution saving throw, so does that mean that a creature can use a Legendary Resistance to automatically pass a Concentration check, or is it not considered a saving throw?

\$\endgroup\$
25
\$\begingroup\$

Yes, it is a Constitution Saving Throw

Taking damage. Whenever you take damage while you are concentrating on a spell, you must make a Constitution saving throw to maintain your concentration. The DC equals 10 or half the damage you take, whichever number is higher. If you take damage from multiple sources, such as an arrow and a dragon's breath, you make a separate saving throw for each source of damage.

PHB p.203: Constitution, Taking damage

Yes, Legendary Resistance Would Work

Legendary Resistance (3/Day). If the demilich fails a saving throw, it can choose to succeed instead.

MM p.48, Demilich stat block.

A legendary creature could use legendary resistance to succeed, if it had uses left and it wasn't saving it for something else.

\$\endgroup\$

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.