-6
\$\begingroup\$

This question already has an answer here:

I believe that you are supposed to add the strength modifier or dexterity modifier depending on if it is a melee weapon or if it is a ranged weapon respectively. Then add the proficiency bonus if they are proficient in the weapon. All of this is added to the roll of a d20. Am I correct?

\$\endgroup\$

marked as duplicate by LegendaryDude, KorvinStarmast, Oblivious Sage, user17995, okeefe Jan 30 '17 at 19:24

This question has been asked before and already has an answer. If those answers do not fully address your question, please ask a new question.

  • 11
    \$\begingroup\$ Have you read the rules on attack rolls in the PHB or basic rules? \$\endgroup\$ – Purple Monkey Jan 30 '17 at 1:12
2
\$\begingroup\$

Proficiency

Your proficiency bonus is applied if you have proficiency with the weapon. This is generally determined by your class. Other factors may grant you proficiency with other weapons (e.g. High Elves have proficiency with longsword, shortsword, shortbow and longbow in addition to whatever weapons their class grants).

Strength vs Dexterity

In general, melee weapons use Strength and ranged weapons use Dexterity. Of course, there are exceptions (see Weapon Properties on PH p. 146-7.).

If the melee weapon is marked finesse, then you may use Dexterity or Strength (e.g. Rapier).

If the ranged weapon is marked thrown and may also be employed as a melee weapon, then you employ Strength rather than Dexterity (e.g. Spear).

If a ranged weapon is marked thrown, may be employed as a melee weapon, and is marked finesse, then you may employ Strength or Dexterity (e.g. Dagger).

\$\endgroup\$
1
\$\begingroup\$

Yes

You are correct - melee weapons use strength (even if thrown), ranged weapons use dexterity. On slight complication is that weapons with the Finesse characteristic use strength or dexterity at the users choice (usually whichever is better). If the person is proficient with the weapon they also add their proficiency bonus.

\$\endgroup\$
  • \$\begingroup\$ Thank you but I add proficiency the attack roll also \$\endgroup\$ – Riley Cook Jan 30 '17 at 1:48

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.