This has been a point of some controversy within our local AL community, with different DMs giving different rulings. From what I could see, this site has only touched on the Maneuver/Smite issue, with, according to some of my DMs, an out of date answer.

This also leaves the problem of extra dice on magical weapons such as an Ild rune or Hazirawn, maneuver damage dice given by another player through Commander's Strike, damage dice given by a College of Valor Bard, Sneak Attack dice, and likely others which currently escape my mind.

What exactly does Great Weapon Fighting apply to?

up vote 34 down vote accepted

From Sage Advice — Rules Answers: April 2016:

If you use Great Weapon Fighting with a feature like Divine Smite or a spell like hex, do you get to reroll any 1 or 2 you roll for the extra damage?
The Great Weapon Fighting feature—which is shared by fighters and paladins—is meant to benefit only the damage roll of the weapon used with the feature. For example, if you use a greatsword with the feature, you can reroll any 1 or 2 you roll on the weapon’s 2d6. If you’re a paladin and use Divine Smite with the greatsword, Great Weapon Fighting doesn’t let you reroll a 1 or 2 that you roll for the damage of Divine Smite.

Also: As pointed out by Doval, Jeremy Crawford allows all weapon dices to be rerolled. This includes, for instance, a Frost Brand sword's additional cold damage, since that damage is part of the weapon's damage itself (not from an additional feature).

  • 2
    "The main purpose of this limitation is to prevent the tedium of excessive rerolls. Many of the limits in the game are aimed at inhibiting slowdowns. Having no limit would also leave the door open for Great Weapon Fighting to grant more of a damage boost than we intended, although the potential for that is minimal compared to the likelihood that numerous rerolls would bog the game down." My guess is it's not intended for any extra dices. – Grakhosh Jan 31 '17 at 13:44
  • 2
    Personally, I think their reasoning of "numerous rolls would bog the game down" is kind of silly. Yes, this is the ruling from Crawford, but my table LIKES to roll dice. It's kinda a big part of why we play. And picking up a few extra 1s and 2s is not a big deal. – NautArch Jan 31 '17 at 16:30
  • 2
    @András perhaps it is not the system but how you implement it that is slowing you down. Our group has not experienced much, if any, of a slow down for dis/advantage situations. – Slagmoth Jan 31 '17 at 18:30
  • 3
    @András I use colored dice pairs in that case, blue for Goblin1, green for Goblin2... etc. Just as fast to look at the high/low of the paired green, blue etc. That was our solution. Bottom line is that something is slowing you down, try another way. Wasn't a dig at you, just a thought that there may be another solution for you of which you have yet to try. – Slagmoth Jan 31 '17 at 18:38
  • 2
    "Extra dice from magical weapons are probably intended to be excluded as well." I disagree. Consider this tweet from Crawford: "Hunter's mark uses the same damage type as the attack that triggers it. If the attack has more than one damage type, choose one." That means if you use a Flame Tongue or Frost Brand with Hunter's Mark or Sneak Attack you can choose to deal extra Fire/Cold damage. The extra dice are also a property of the weapon. – Doval Feb 3 '17 at 18:19

I called Wizards of the Coast for an official answer, which I'll summarize.

How great weapon fighting works is that it lets the player who has the great weapon fighting style and is using a two handed version of the weapon can reroll all of the damage associated with that weapon.

For example the weapons that fall under this category are a great sword/maul, Flametongue, Frostbrand, Vorpal Sword and that Harizwan from the Hoard of the Dragon Queen. Even the extra damage coming from those weapons can be rerolled as per the great weapon fighting style.

The spells that also allow for this effect are elemental weapon and holy weapon. Specifically because they turn the weapon into a magical weapon that does additional weapon damage. However while all of these weapons and spells allow rerolls, what doesn't allow rerolls are literally whatever isn't coming from the weapon. Like divine smite, half orcs brutal critical (boo I know but I don't think anyone really cares about that one), sneak attack, hex, and hunters mark are all features that have been under debate and all of them don't allow rerolls by the rules.

However saying all of that, I stress that while at a table, the DM has the ultimate authority to allow or not allow this or that rule into the game. Hope I helped clarify how the rules worked to a degree.

  • 1
    Welcome to the site! Please take the tour when you get the chance. It's important to note that this not a forum; answer posts should stand on their own by attempting to directly answer the question that was asked, rather than replying to other answers. Once you earn some more reputation you'll unlock the ability to comment on other users' posts. – Oblivious Sage Jun 11 at 18:01
  • 1
    @KorvinStarmast Now that the answer has been cleaned up that's more apparent. The initial version appeared to be a reply to the accepted answer. – Oblivious Sage Jun 11 at 18:27
  • @ObliviousSage Aye, it does look better. – KorvinStarmast Jun 11 at 20:09

Great Weapon Fighting only applies to the weapon

Or at least, that's what I would argue. Reading the description, assuming you're looking at the Paladin Fighting Style, it says

"When you roll a 1 or 2 on a damage die for an attack you make with a melee weapon"

(emphasis mine). To me, this says that you can only reroll the damage die of the weapon, not any added bonuses such as Sneak Attack or Divine Smite.

  • 3
    "When you roll a 1 or 2 on a damage die for an attack you make with a melee weapon." I agree that the reroll only applies to the weapon damage dice but I don't agree with how you came to the conclusion. The quote you provide could easily be interpreted as "a 1 or 2 on any damage die for an attack you make, as long as the attack was made with a melee weapon." It is exactly this sentence that creates the confusion so I don't see how it can be used to answer the question. – LegendaryDude Jan 31 '17 at 14:04
  • @LegendaryDude And that interpretation you have at the end is how my table reads it. Rolling dice is fun and when you're Divine Smiting it makes you feel even better :) – NautArch Jan 31 '17 at 18:42

The way that it is written you get all ones and twos for an attack that uses a melee weapon. it does not say "you do not get any other damage that is made for that weapon" so you would reroll all ones and twos made on that attack with a melee weapon which would include any damage you could stack on that attack. If you want to make good rules make them Ironclad.

We're looking for long answers that provide some explanation and context. Don't just give a one-line answer; explain why your answer is right, ideally with citations. Answers that don't include explanations may be removed.

  • 2
    This could benefit from some rules quotes; as it stands, it reads like a rant, not an answer - especially the last sentence. – T.J.L. Aug 1 '17 at 12:36
  • 1
    Hi Tonyadd2, and welcome to RPG Stack Exchange. Check out our tour to see how we work here. I am not sure what this answer's saying. The opening sentence reads to me like you seem to be saying the style, as written, means all your rolls effectively come out as 1s or 2s? ("you get all ones and twos".) I agree with TJL as well; this reads like a rant more than an answer. Could you revise your post to clarify & justify your position? Otherwise this answer may be removed for not meeting our quality bars. – doppelgreener Aug 1 '17 at 12:59

protected by Oblivious Sage Jun 11 at 18:02

Thank you for your interest in this question. Because it has attracted low-quality or spam answers that had to be removed, posting an answer now requires 10 reputation on this site (the association bonus does not count).

Would you like to answer one of these unanswered questions instead?

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.