10
\$\begingroup\$

As part of the action used to cast this spell, you must make a melee attack with a weapon against one creature within the spell's range, otherwise the spell fails. On a hit, the target suffers the attack's normal effects, and it becomes sheathed in booming energy until the start of your next turn. If the target willingly moves before then, it immediately takes 1d8 thunder damage, and the spell ends.

Does "moves" refer to the (move action) or is it any action requiring movement e.g. attacking or using items etc.?

\$\endgroup\$
16
\$\begingroup\$

Jeremy Crawford clarified via twitter that is as in using your movement, "I move X feet", not a generic "move" as in "I scratch my nose".

When booming blade refers to moving, it means movement in the game's normal sense: moving X feet. #DnD

https://twitter.com/JeremyECrawford/status/659436991956799488?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw

Moreover, standing, while it uses movement, does not count as a move for the Booming blade spell, as Crawford has also clarified:

Standing up costs movement but moves you nowhere. To move while prone, you crawl or use magic (PH, 191). #DnD

https://twitter.com/JeremyECrawford/status/663030224154562561

\$\endgroup\$
  • \$\begingroup\$ One thing to note as well with this is that the movement of the target has to be of their own conviction, forced movement doesn't work. \$\endgroup\$ – Matthew Perryman Jul 4 '17 at 20:28

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.