5
\$\begingroup\$

If a creature bites a Verdurous Ooze does it cause the creature to split (assuming it breaks the 10 damage threshold)?

Bite attacks count as B/P/S so we assumed it goes through the damage reduction and our DM ruled that it would also split but we could not find RAW.

\$\endgroup\$
1
  • \$\begingroup\$ Good question. Same would apply to some weapons, eg Morningstar (B+P) \$\endgroup\$
    – Adeptus
    Commented Feb 3, 2017 at 4:57

2 Answers 2

2
\$\begingroup\$

Yes.

The split is caused by whatever piercing or slashing damage it takes, as long as at least 10 points of damage are caused by the attack.

Bite attacks are Bludgeoning, Piercing and Slashing, similar to a morning star, so you don't have the option to cause one or another, the weapon damage's type counts as all three types and any weapon based damage reduction will apply to them, allowing them to ignore it.

For a creature to reduce or be immune to a weapon's damage type, it has to reduce all of it, as noted on the Weapon's Type:

Type: Weapons are classified according to the type of damage they deal: B for bludgeoning, P for piercing, or S for slashing. Some monsters may be resistant or immune to attacks from certain types of weapons. Some weapons deal damage of multiple types. If a weapon causes two types of damage, the type it deals is not half one type and half another; all damage caused is of both types. Therefore, a creature would have to be immune to both types of damage to ignore any of the damage caused by such a weapon. In other cases, a weapon can deal either of two types of damage. In a situation where the damage type is significant, the wielder can choose which type of damage to deal with such a weapon.

The ooze should take this damage, as she is immune to slashing and piercing damage, but not bludgeoning damage, as noted by her Defensive Abilities:

Defensive Abilities split; Immune acid, fire, mind-affecting effects, ooze traits, slashing and piercing damage

\$\endgroup\$
5
  • \$\begingroup\$ The weapons section states that immunity applies only if a creature has immunity to all kinds of damage a weapon deals. And the DR rules imply the same. That seems to contradict your statement that a bite is reduced by both 5/Piercing and 5/Slashing damage reductions. "Therefore, a creature would have to be immune to both types of damage to ignore any of the damage caused by such a weapon." \$\endgroup\$
    – Umbranus
    Commented Feb 3, 2017 at 11:12
  • \$\begingroup\$ I see, so unless a creature is immune to weapon attacks (or all three types), bites will still cause damage. \$\endgroup\$
    – ShadowKras
    Commented Feb 3, 2017 at 11:17
  • \$\begingroup\$ Using the statement, " In a situation where the damage type is significant, the wielder can choose which type of damage to deal with such a weapon. " could the biter choose to only do bludgeoning damage thus bypassing damage reduction and not causing a split? \$\endgroup\$
    – Rapida
    Commented Feb 4, 2017 at 2:06
  • \$\begingroup\$ No, bite does all three types of damage, that clause is for weapons that have the OR clause, like a dagger that can do S or P (slashing or piercing). \$\endgroup\$
    – ShadowKras
    Commented Feb 4, 2017 at 2:10
  • \$\begingroup\$ Few weapons actually say and, the morning star on the weapon's table, and bites and claw attacks mostly. \$\endgroup\$
    – ShadowKras
    Commented Feb 4, 2017 at 2:11
4
\$\begingroup\$

Yes. It is piercing and/or slashing damage, so the Ooze's Split ability applies.

\$\endgroup\$

You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .