4
\$\begingroup\$

When a character is awoken after being affected by a Sleep spell (or any other of the various ways to give an adventurer extra Zzz's), when do they act?

  • Have they been 'delaying' initiative until that point? Does it matter if they would have acted already?
  • Do they have to wait until they get another turn, even if they would have acted immediately before the ally that woke them up?
\$\endgroup\$
5
\$\begingroup\$

When a character is awoken after being it by Sleep (or any other of the various ways to give an adventurer extra Zzz's), when do they act?

In normal initiative order

Have they been 'delaying' initiative until that point?

No. They haven't been able to take actions, so they can't delay.

Does it matter if they would have acted already?

No. If their ally didn't wake them up before their turn, then they have missed it.

Do they have to wait until they get another turn, even if they would have acted immediately before the ally that woke them up?

Yes

\$\endgroup\$
  • 5
    \$\begingroup\$ While this is correct, it would be useful to cite the rules at some point to prove it. \$\endgroup\$ – Ladifas Feb 5 '17 at 8:28
  • \$\begingroup\$ I agree with @Ladifas. This is always how I've seen it played, but that's not based on any rules that I could find. I'm really looking for something (rule I missed, eratta, FAQ, etc) from WotC/Paizo. I'd accept proof from 3.5 if Paizo didn't put it anywhere. \$\endgroup\$ – Ifusaso Feb 6 '17 at 2:57
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ @Ladifas you don't need a specific rules citation here because the answer above is simply the "default" handling of initiative. There are no rules saying you do anything weird to initiative if someone is unconscious, so initiative remains exactly the same. \$\endgroup\$ – Cellion Feb 6 '17 at 15:31
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ It's difficult to provide a reference because you are asking for proof of a negative. I can't show you where Paizo didn't write that being woken up changes initiative. \$\endgroup\$ – Quentin Feb 6 '17 at 15:31
  • \$\begingroup\$ No initiative penalties for lack of coffee, either. More to the point though, remember that they will begin prone and therefore you'll need to take that into account on their first action. \$\endgroup\$ – CaM Feb 6 '17 at 15:58

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.