4
\$\begingroup\$

When a character is awoken after being affected by a Sleep spell (or any other of the various ways to give an adventurer extra Zzz's), when do they act?

  • Have they been 'delaying' initiative until that point? Does it matter if they would have acted already?
  • Do they have to wait until they get another turn, even if they would have acted immediately before the ally that woke them up?
\$\endgroup\$

1 Answer 1

5
\$\begingroup\$

When a character is awoken after being it by Sleep (or any other of the various ways to give an adventurer extra Zzz's), when do they act?

In normal initiative order

Have they been 'delaying' initiative until that point?

No. They haven't been able to take actions, so they can't delay.

Does it matter if they would have acted already?

No. If their ally didn't wake them up before their turn, then they have missed it.

Do they have to wait until they get another turn, even if they would have acted immediately before the ally that woke them up?

Yes

\$\endgroup\$
10
  • 5
    \$\begingroup\$ While this is correct, it would be useful to cite the rules at some point to prove it. \$\endgroup\$
    – Ladifas
    Feb 5, 2017 at 8:28
  • \$\begingroup\$ I agree with @Ladifas. This is always how I've seen it played, but that's not based on any rules that I could find. I'm really looking for something (rule I missed, eratta, FAQ, etc) from WotC/Paizo. I'd accept proof from 3.5 if Paizo didn't put it anywhere. \$\endgroup\$
    – Ifusaso
    Feb 6, 2017 at 2:57
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ @Ladifas you don't need a specific rules citation here because the answer above is simply the "default" handling of initiative. There are no rules saying you do anything weird to initiative if someone is unconscious, so initiative remains exactly the same. \$\endgroup\$
    – Cellion
    Feb 6, 2017 at 15:31
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ It's difficult to provide a reference because you are asking for proof of a negative. I can't show you where Paizo didn't write that being woken up changes initiative. \$\endgroup\$
    – Quentin
    Feb 6, 2017 at 15:31
  • \$\begingroup\$ No initiative penalties for lack of coffee, either. More to the point though, remember that they will begin prone and therefore you'll need to take that into account on their first action. \$\endgroup\$
    – CaM
    Feb 6, 2017 at 15:58

You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .