12
\$\begingroup\$

I'm wondering if a weapon "wrapped" in a spell like Prestidigitation, Minor Illusion, or another like spell would classify as making my weapon a magical weapon for combat in regards to resistance or immunity to non-magical weapons and attacks?

For example: As I enter combat I go to draw my sword from its sheath and let out a battle cry which makes the blade burst into flames making it appear a "Blazing Blade" but in reality is nothing more than a standard weapon encased in magical flames of harmlessness. Would this bypass the magic requirement?

\$\endgroup\$
23
\$\begingroup\$

Only certain spells turn weapons magical.

The spell Magic Weapon specifies:

You touch a nonmagical weapon. Until the spell ends, that weapon becomes a magic weapon with a +1 bonus to Attack rolls and Damage Rolls.

Likewise, the spell Elemental Weapon states:

A nonmagical weapon you touch becomes a magic weapon.

If casting any spell on a weapon makes it a magic weapon, these spells wouldn't have to specify that they turn nonmagical weapons into magic weapons.

For an in-universe explanation, only spells that explicitly add magic to a weapon would affect whether a weapon was magical or not. Since spells like light or minor illusion don't deal damage on their own, and don't fundamentally modify whatever they're cast on, they don't add the magical quality to the weapon. Additionally, polymorphing a weapon only changes its physical form, and doesn't add any magical properties.

Developer intent supports this.

As Purple Monkey points out, Jeremy Crawford, the official rules person for 5e, confirms this:

What just happened? @RCPlemons

@JeremyECrawford Would casting the light cantrip on a weapon render it a magic weapon in regards to resistance to non magical weapons?

Jeremy Crawford @JeremyECrawford

@RCPlemons No.

\$\endgroup\$
  • \$\begingroup\$ Citing rules precedent make me think this is the more comprehensive answer; maybe you can just incorporate the Sage Advice tweet for completeness? \$\endgroup\$ – Marq Feb 10 '17 at 8:34
  • \$\begingroup\$ Not that how. Another how ;) polymorphed sword still deals damage physically, not magically. I agree that answer could use some clarifications. \$\endgroup\$ – Mołot Feb 10 '17 at 14:07
  • \$\begingroup\$ I have made the suggested edits; thanks guys! \$\endgroup\$ – Icyfire Feb 10 '17 at 16:43
14
\$\begingroup\$

This would not bypass resistance or immunity to non-magical weapons.

Jeremy Crawford, one of the lead designers and official rules arbiter for D&D 5e, has answered pretty much this exact question on SageAdvice:

What just happened?
@RCPlemons
@JeremyECrawford Would casting the light cantrip on a weapon render it a magic weapon in regards to resistance to non magical weapons?

Jeremy Crawford
@JeremyECrawford
@RCPlemons No.

Whilst he doesn't go into any detail about explaining why this is the case, it's clear the intent is that simply casting a spell on an item doesn't make the item itself magical.

\$\endgroup\$
  • \$\begingroup\$ Then what of Green Flame Blade and Booming Blade? Does the magic from the cantrip make the weapon a magical attack just for the single attack or is it a spell that encases a weapon in a magical aura that first contacts the enemy and then the weapon strikes? \$\endgroup\$ – David L. Heyder Jr. Feb 10 '17 at 18:58

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.