2
\$\begingroup\$

I've been reading some effects of Malkav's blood and I was wondering if there are some official rules for a Dhampir that drinks its blood. To clarify, I'm talking about the creatures born of one thin-blood and a human, not the Dhampyr of the Kue-Jin. Are there rules covering this situation that I've missed somewhere?

If there are no such rules, would these house rules be consistent/balanced?

  • When a Dhampir takes one point of the blood of Malkav, it is considered a ghoul with a 3rd generation domitor. As the rules for this don't exist, I'm thinking of giving the Dhampir a maximum rank for his disciplines of 5, as if he had a 4th generation domitor, but he does not need to drink blood regularly, just one time per year.
  • The Dhampir gets one free point of one discipline of his decision (only physic or mental disciplines).
  • For (20 - Humanity) nights, the Dhampir will suffer the Curse of Caine like a vampire, suffering the effects of the sun, the blood-loss every night, the fire weakness and the effects of Rötschreck. After that, the Dhampir will recover from the Curse of Caine. But if the Dhampir has a humanity of 3 or less, he will instead permanently become a full-fledged vampire.
\$\endgroup\$
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ Do you mean the blood of the actual Malkavian Antedeluvian? Can I ask the source of material specifically referring to Malkav's blood? \$\endgroup\$ – LegendaryDude Feb 11 '17 at 17:41
  • \$\begingroup\$ Yes, I've found it in a book called Fountains of Bright Crimson. \$\endgroup\$ – Slifer Dragon Feb 11 '17 at 23:12
  • \$\begingroup\$ And yes, the Malkavian Antediluvian itself \$\endgroup\$ – Slifer Dragon Feb 11 '17 at 23:24
  • \$\begingroup\$ I've written "Antedeluvian" somewhat like the spanish translation (in spanish is "Antediluviano"), sorry... \$\endgroup\$ – Slifer Dragon Feb 12 '17 at 10:19
5
\$\begingroup\$

First of all I'd like to say that bringing 3rd generation vampire (or even his blood) to your chronicle (and even worse - giving it to your player) is a BAD IDEA. It is comparable to giving your trigger-happy player a nuclear weapon, ring of wish with unlimited charges or Scroll of Summoning Cthulhu - Antediluvians are godlike beings and should not be brought as a footnote in character creation "oh btw, I've drank from Malkav himself". Methuselah - sure, but Antediluvian? Please no.

Now back to the original question. Since I do not believe that there would be rules for drinking Antediluvian blood (for reasons mentioned above), let's look at your homemade rules for dhampir-turned ghoul (with ancient domitor).

There is only one official rule: Do not mix templates and if you really, really have to, give it gigantic penalties (check Abomination for example) or simply say that "now X became Y".

What you are trying to do is create a ghoul who doesn't have to drink his master's blood often... So as a general rule I'd say that dhampir that drinks other vampire's blood is simply a ghoul.

When a Dhampir takes one point of the blood of Malkav, it is considered a ghoul with a 3rd generation domitor.

  • Vitae is addictive. It's like with the anti-meth ads - "even once is once too much". Now drinking antediluvian blood would be hundred times more addictive... Doing it once a year wouldn't do - its not a matter of HAVING to drink but WANTING to drink.
  • To use disciplines Ghoul burns the vitae of his domitor. Dhampir uses his own blood, dhampir-ghoul could use both... but for balance's sake I'd say that you first burn your domitor's blood.
  • Also please note that ghouls tend to get their domitor's flaw. In case of drinking such potent blood it would happen much more quickly.

The Dhampir gets one free point of one discipline of his decision (only physic or mental disciplines).

  • Ancient vampire's blood would be strong enough to give a free discipline point (but only once) and indeed 4th generation dormitor gives his ghouls access to 5th level disciplines - nothing wrong here, just please read my first paragraph.
\$\endgroup\$
  • \$\begingroup\$ I'ts a really good answer. And no, I don't want a player being involved with Antediluvians, it was just for a NPC. If I give the power of an Antediluvian to a player it could be crazy, and I don't want gods. \$\endgroup\$ – Slifer Dragon Feb 14 '17 at 10:26

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.