4
\$\begingroup\$

I was working up a wizard specializing in illusion for a buddy and ran into a conundrum. You get additional spells for specializing, and this reads as:

One additional spell from the wizard's specialty school per spell level each day.

Does this mean they can cast:

  • a single additional illusion spell of level 1,
  • two additional illusion spells of level 2,
  • three additional illusion spells of level 3,
  • (..)
  • nine additional illusion spells of level 9

That seems a bit "top heavy" to me. How many extra spells does the wizard get to cast?

\$\endgroup\$
  • \$\begingroup\$ It would only have the effect you claim if it said something like “Each spell level gains one additional spell from the wizard’s specialty school per spell level each day.” \$\endgroup\$ – KRyan Feb 17 '17 at 15:41
16
\$\begingroup\$

The wizards gets to cast a single extra spell of each spell level:

  • a single additional illusion spell of level 1,
  • a single additional illusion spell of level 2,
  • a single additional illusion spell of level 3,
  • (..)
  • a single additional illusion spell of level 9

While the wording may be ambiguous enough to allow both interpretations I believe the correct is the one described in this answer because the alternative would be rather ridiculous.

Further, here's an official evoker and an official diviner. They use the rules as described above rather than, for example, getting increasingly bigger piles of higher-level spells.

\$\endgroup\$

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.