6
\$\begingroup\$

Conjure Elemental:

If your concentration is broken, the elemental doesn’t disappear. Instead, you lose control of the elemental, it becomes hostile toward you and your companions, and it might attack.

Does this mean it becomes indifferent against its previous targets, and hostile toward you, or hostile toward everyone?

In other words, would it stop attacking the creature that has already damaged it several times just to come after you, or not?

\$\endgroup\$
  • \$\begingroup\$ Do you ask as a player or as a DM? \$\endgroup\$ – enkryptor Feb 20 '17 at 16:08
5
\$\begingroup\$

The elemental doesn't become indifferent against its previous targets. It was indifferent. The only thing that made it attack the target was the caster's will. Now, when the caster's concentration is broken, their will enslaves the elemental no more.

The elemental is angry toward the caster, who pulled it out of its plane. It even might attack the caster or one of his/her allies. But nothing in the rules says it must (or will) attack. What the elemental will do is up to the DM.

\$\endgroup\$
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ It was indifferent when it was summoned, but that Ogre hurt it since. It is standing right next to it when the control is ended. Why not keep attacking it? \$\endgroup\$ – András Feb 20 '17 at 16:03
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ @András because the caster is the first priority target? The elemental has 5-6 INT, it might be enough to understand it was fighting with the orge only because the caster said so. \$\endgroup\$ – enkryptor Feb 20 '17 at 16:08
  • 2
    \$\begingroup\$ Mind you, if the ogre hit him with an attack of opportunity while the elemental was moving away (An ogre wouldn't exactly know the elemental is no longer under control), then said elemental might be a bit cross \$\endgroup\$ – QDust Feb 20 '17 at 16:11
  • 2
    \$\begingroup\$ @QDust well, it doesn't contradict the rules: "it becomes hostile toward you and your companions, and it might attack". \$\endgroup\$ – enkryptor Feb 20 '17 at 16:17
  • \$\begingroup\$ Quite. All in all, I would favor whatever makes for the best narrative. Summon a fire elemental into a frozen wasteland to fight a white dragon and it'll understandably be fairly upset with the wizard who pulled it out of its comfy plane of existence. Edit: Of course, it should go without saying that this is all, as you said, the DM's call, wonderfully so. \$\endgroup\$ – QDust Feb 20 '17 at 16:22
2
\$\begingroup\$

It's just hostile to you and your companions.

By RAW, the conjure elemental will only make the elemental friendly or hostile to the caster and their companions. It doesn't affect, under any circumstances, the disposition of the elemental to any other creatures.

I would say that the intent of this effect is generally that a hostile elemental stops being beneficial to the caster and becomes a problem. So as a DM I would generally have the elemental focus on making life bad for the caster rather than continuing to obey the orders it was given. The elemental likely would have no feelings one way or the other about the creature it was previously attacking.

\$\endgroup\$

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.