What exactly are Expanded Spell Slots. Do they effect spells known? I'm very new to D&D, and I am unsure what it means. I did look in the PHB, and found this:

The Warlock table shows how many spell slots you have. The table also shows what the level of those slots is; all of your spell slots are the same level. To cast one of your warlock spells of 1st level or higher, you must expend a spell slot. You regain all expended spell slots when you finish a short or long rest.

For example, when you are 5th level, you have two 3rd-level spell slots. To cast the 1st-level spell thunderwave, you must spend one of those slots, and you cast it as a 3rd-level spell.

  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ That bad OCR though…. \$\endgroup\$ – user17995 Feb 24 '17 at 6:29
  • \$\begingroup\$ Yup. It is very very terrible. \$\endgroup\$ – The Leviathan Feb 24 '17 at 6:45
  • 5
    \$\begingroup\$ Please buy the real book. Don't rip it off some internet page. \$\endgroup\$ – nvoigt Feb 24 '17 at 8:33
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ A fair amount of the basic rules information is here at the SRD_V_5.1 from Wizards of the Coast's web site. It is free, but it does not have all of the material in the PHB. I recommend getting the PHB. \$\endgroup\$ – KorvinStarmast Feb 24 '17 at 15:53

It's expended, not expanded. Expended means it is used up.

Lets say you have one spell slot, it is level one because you picked warlock.

You use one casting a level one spell.

You can't use that one anymore because it is used up, until you take a short or long rest.

So till then, you can only use cantrips.

  • \$\begingroup\$ Thank you. Feel kind of dumbfounded because of my misreading. \$\endgroup\$ – The Leviathan Feb 24 '17 at 6:04
  • \$\begingroup\$ @TheLeviathan It's fine. We all do it. It should be noted that spell casting for warlocks is very weird and not really spellcasting, but for a quick tid bit and without going into crazy amounts of detail just know that warlocks have strange spell slots compared to wizards and other classes. \$\endgroup\$ – Jihelu Feb 24 '17 at 6:07
  • 2
    \$\begingroup\$ @JBC what Jihelu is saying is Warkocks have Pact Magic which is an ENTIRELY different feature than the feature called Spellcasting that every other magical class obtains. Though some mechanics and terms are the same, it is intentially a different feature. \$\endgroup\$ – Airatome Feb 24 '17 at 15:35
  • 2
    \$\begingroup\$ @JBC I don't mean to be rude but it IS different from a mechanical perspective. Especially if you look at multiclassing and how spell slots are obtained. \$\endgroup\$ – Jihelu Feb 25 '17 at 11:43
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ "It's different from a flavor perspective, but not a mechanical perspective. "... That's obviously mechanical. I'm not talking "Warlocks get very little spellslots per level". I'm talking about how warlock levels don't add up with other magick classes when deciding spell slots for the purpose of multiclassing. Which is a huge mechanical difference. \$\endgroup\$ – Jihelu Feb 26 '17 at 23:50

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.