4
\$\begingroup\$

What happens with the reflex save aspect of Burning Gaze if it is cast on a sleeping ogre with standard stats?

Assume the ogre failed the CON save. Since the ogre is sleeping, does the ogre get a full reflex save or is there some sort of penalty?

\$\endgroup\$
9
\$\begingroup\$

The ogre gets a save, but with a fairly large penalty.

The ogre is asleep? That means it's unconscious.

Unconscious
Unconscious creatures are knocked out and helpless. ...

Helpless, eh?

Helpless
A helpless character is paralyzed, held, bound, sleeping, unconscious, or otherwise completely at an opponent’s mercy. A helpless target is treated as having a Dexterity of 0 (–5 modifier). ...

So the ogre gets to make a reflex save, but it doesn't get its normal dexterity bonus and it takes a -5 penalty.

Yes, I know nothing in the rules says that being asleep makes you unconscious, but we can assume that from knowledge of what the word "sleep" means. Also, the designers said so.

\$\endgroup\$

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.