I just found some Swiftpad boots as treasure in the 4e game I play in.

Power (Daily): Move Action. You jump a number of squares equal to your Strength modifier.

The power doesn't define whether the jump is horizontal only or can also be used in a vertical jump.

  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ Note the wording -- "equal to your strength modifier". Want to jump a shorter distance? Too bad! \$\endgroup\$
    – Snowbody
    Commented Aug 29, 2011 at 21:01

1 Answer 1


If it doesn't say, then it works for any jump. Magic!

  • \$\begingroup\$ A wizard did it. \$\endgroup\$
    – adamjford
    Commented Aug 21, 2011 at 1:58
  • \$\begingroup\$ Something else of note: this means you can jump diagonally in the air as well. So if the OP's secret ambition is to leap tall buildings in a single bound, all he really needs is these boots and about a 30 STR. \$\endgroup\$
    – jprete
    Commented Aug 21, 2011 at 16:24
  • \$\begingroup\$ Being trained in Acrobatics might help for the landing... \$\endgroup\$
    – okeefe
    Commented Aug 22, 2011 at 2:36
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ I would concur with the "works for any jump" answer. As the DM, I would definitely force an Acrobatics check on the landing if the jump was vertical, regardless of whether they were jumping to a higher ledge or if they were just going straight up and straight down. Failed Acrobatics check = standard damage from falling (especially if the jump would take them up higher than the ledge's height). The power's description says nothing about a safe landing, after all. \$\endgroup\$ Commented Aug 23, 2011 at 17:54

You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .