On pg. OM13 of the Marvel Heroic Roleplaying Game:
If the Watcher activates one of your Limits, it costs a die from the Doom Pool, but you don't get any PP. You get first refusal on this if you're the player--the Watcher may decide to spend Doom Pool dice, but only after giving you the chance to earn PP first.
On pg. OM93:
Conscious Activation If stressed out, asleep, or unconscious, shutdown Power Set. Recover Power Set when stress is recovered or you awake. If Trauma Type is taken, shutdown Power Set until trauma is recovered.
Can I spend Doom Pool Dice to activate this Limit? Can the player activate to earn PP? If the player is not capable of activating the Limit at will, should the player earn PP when it is activated by circumstances?
My reading of it is that it cannot be activated in either way because:
- Some Limits (Gear) explicitly mention PP. Therefore, any Limits which do not mention PP should not receive any.
- Anything which cannot receive PP cannot be activated by Doom Dice, since the rule mentions offering the player the chance to get PP before spending the Doom die.
- The Limit specifically mentions the circumstances which must be present to activate it. Without those circumstances, activating it by the player receiving a PP or the Watcher spending a Doom Die doesn't make sense. I can't just spend a Doom die and make someone unconscious.
Compare to the "Gear" Limit:
Gear Shutdown Power Set and gain 1PP. Take an action against the Doom Pool to recover.
The Larger Question:
Are some Limits ineligible for Doom Dice expenditures or gaining PP? The rules cited at the top of the question lead me to believe I could activate any Limit, but the rules blurbs in the Limits themselves seem to conflict with this idea.
I prefer rules references to backup claims, but given that this is a largely interpretive game, I will accept answers that cite how Watchers have used this, or similar, Limits at the table.