4
\$\begingroup\$

So me and my DM have been arguing on how Twinned spell works.

Twinned spell:

When you cast a spell that targets only one creature and doesn't have a range of self, you can spend a number of sorcery points equal to the spell's level to target a second creature in range with the same spell (1 sorcery point if the spell is a cantrip).

I argued that "a second creature" can be a the same target as it is not worded as "another creature"

For this example counter spell with twinned spell.

A wizard casts fireball on me

I use CounterSpell#1 with Twinned Spell

Wizard casts CounterSpell on my CounterSpell#1 I use him as the same

target for my twinned Spell CounterSpell#2

Result countered

Is this possible?

\$\endgroup\$
19
\$\begingroup\$

First off, "a second creature" is here synonymous with "another creature." Your DM is right on this front. Jeremy Crawford has clarified such a point before:

Q: Hey, can twinned spell, target the same person twice?

Jeremy: If a rule, such as Twinned Spell, says you affect one creature and then a second creature, those are two different creatures.

Second, Twinned Spell does not work at all with Counterspell. This is because Counterspell is cast in reaction to another creature casting a spell, and because of the way turn order/initiative works in D&D, there is no valid target at the time you twin the spell. It could also be argued that Counterspell targets a spell instead of a creature, but I'm not sure on that one.

\$\endgroup\$
  • 6
    \$\begingroup\$ I might add to your first paragraph that the design team for 5e has stated that rules should be read in simple idiomatic English, to add support to your interpretation that "a second creature" is supposed to mean "another creature" (since nobody would use "a second creature" to refer possibly to the same creature in simple English). Otherwise, without support, it would be reasonable for the asker to argue with you on that point. \$\endgroup\$ – Bloodcinder Mar 5 '17 at 19:28
  • 2
    \$\begingroup\$ On the second point, Counterspell doesn't mentioning targeting, so I think your last sentence ("it could also be argued that Counterspell targets a spell instead of a creature, but I'm not sure on that one") is probably not something you can argue. But it doesn't involve targeting a single creature so it definitely can't be used for Twinned Spell. \$\endgroup\$ – Bloodcinder Mar 5 '17 at 19:29
  • 4
    \$\begingroup\$ And just in case, Crawford has answered this question before: twitter.com/JeremyECrawford/status/829087884955095040 \$\endgroup\$ – Doval Mar 6 '17 at 4:03
  • 4
    \$\begingroup\$ @Doval That's excellent! Thanks for sharing that with us. Passage, I've edited Doval's citation into your answer. Please check over it & see if you're OK with what I've added. \$\endgroup\$ – doppelgreener Mar 6 '17 at 11:12
  • \$\begingroup\$ The rules are silent on handling multiple reactions with the same trigger. If the DM rules they happen simultaneously, it's possible for twinned counterspell to come up if two creatures try to counterspell the same spell. \$\endgroup\$ – Doval Mar 6 '17 at 14:49

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.