1
\$\begingroup\$

This is a grappling related question. As a 10th level druid, would it be possible to wild shape into a Huge animal, cast Animal growth on yourself thus going to Gargantuan then be further pushed to Colossal (not in terms of size but strictly for CMB) by way of Powerful Shape? I would imagine this would make the druid quite effective a grappler.

\$\endgroup\$
4
\$\begingroup\$

Unfortunately, it's not possible

The supernatural ability wild shape is an effect like that of the spells beast shape et al. of the transmutation subschool polymorph and "other spells that change your size have no effect on you while you are under the effects of a polymorph spell."

Further, the spells beast shape et al. on which the supernatural ability wild shape is based don't change the caster's type. Unless the druid possessed the type animal to begin with, the druid, despite having the form of an animal, still can't target himself with a spell like animal growth because of the spell's entry Target: One animal (Gargantuan or smaller).

The feat Powerful Shape changes neither of these restrictions.

\$\endgroup\$
  • \$\begingroup\$ I did not know a druid could not cast animal growth on himself. Can one cast strong jaw on himself? \$\endgroup\$ – Atalius Mar 11 '17 at 21:44
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ @Atalius Strong Jaw only changes the damage (which can't stack with other things like Improved Natural Attack). It doesn't actually change your size, so it can apply to Wild Shape. \$\endgroup\$ – WeirdFrog Mar 11 '17 at 21:51
  • 2
    \$\begingroup\$ @Atalius WeirdFrog is correct. The spell strong jaw is an effective size increase and a creature typically benefits from only one actual size increase and only one virtual (or effective) size increase (in each case, usually the biggest). You can read more about this weirdness here. \$\endgroup\$ – Hey I Can Chan Mar 11 '17 at 21:59
  • \$\begingroup\$ So powerful shape still would apply for CMB purposes you would be the next size up from Huge correct? \$\endgroup\$ – Atalius Mar 11 '17 at 22:16
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ Yes, you would count as a Gargantuan creature, including the ability to use Grab on Gargantuan creatures. \$\endgroup\$ – Jon Claus Mar 13 '17 at 20:26

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.