4
\$\begingroup\$

An inquisitor of the Tactics subdomain get "Seize the initiative" at level 1 :

Seize the Initiative (Su): Whenever you and your allies roll for initiative, you can grant one ally within 30 feet the ability to roll twice and take either result. This decision is made before results are revealed. You can use this ability a number of times per day equal to 3 + your Wisdom modifier.

May this effect be applied to multiple allies, and or to the inquisitor itself ?

I would say it may not, but I am really not sure about this.

\$\endgroup\$
6
\$\begingroup\$

No, Tactics Domain users can only apply the ability once per initiative.

Because the trigger is Initiative and the ability specifies 'one ally', the trigger is only met once so the the 'one ally' can only be selected once per initiative.

Otherwise the "one" before "ally" is unnecessarily specific. They would have had to write it as 'one ally per use' or 'as many allies as you choose; each selected ally is a use' for you to be able to use it multiple times in a single combat.

Yes, Tactics Domain users can select themselves.

You count as your own ally unless the ability states 'other ally' or you could not be the target of the ability.

\$\endgroup\$
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ That's a pretty serious Magic: The Gathering type ruling. Because it's apparently not an action to use, can you liken the supernatural ability seize seize the initiative to another similar yet clearer ability? \$\endgroup\$ – Hey I Can Chan Mar 13 '17 at 13:14
  • 3
    \$\begingroup\$ I see no reason the singular trigger of "initiative" could not be used to activate this ability multiple times. \$\endgroup\$ – GreySage Mar 13 '17 at 13:43
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ I can't seem to find anything else that activates during initiative that could affect other characters, at the moment. I'll take a swing at it, but until then I'm sticking with the RAW that 'whenever you and your allies roll for initiative' is a single event that allows you to 'grant one ally within 30 feet' these benefits. Otherwise the 'one' before the word ally seems unnecessarily specific. They probably would have specified 'one ally per use' or 'as many allies as you choose; each selected ally is a use'. \$\endgroup\$ – Ifusaso Mar 13 '17 at 18:13
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ As a complementary answer, a similar post on Reddit (by someone else) was answered the same way : reddit.com/r/Pathfinder_RPG/comments/1ze793/… \$\endgroup\$ – Binochio Mar 17 '17 at 10:28

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.