-2
\$\begingroup\$

This question already has an answer here:

So me and my friends are playing D&D 5E and my friend wants to cast magic missiles. Our DM says that he has to roll to cast the spell but my friend says he does not. So according to the rules of D&D 5E do you have to roll to cast magic missiles or any other spells? Do you need to roll for each missile to hit?

\$\endgroup\$

marked as duplicate by SevenSidedDie dnd-5e Mar 18 '17 at 22:36

This question has been asked before and already has an answer. If those answers do not fully address your question, please ask a new question.

9
\$\begingroup\$

Spells do exactly what they say they do. Magic Missile doesn't require roll. Some spells require attack rolls, others require the target to roll a saving throw -- but those are spelled out in the description of the spell. Magic Missile automatically hits.

Here it is from Jeremy Crawford's mouth: http://www.sageadvice.eu/2015/10/11/is-magic-missile-an-attack-that-hits-without-an-attack-roll/

\$\endgroup\$

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.