As a sorcerer, am I allowed to know spells I don't have the spells slots for yet? Reason being, I don't want any more lower level spells and would prefer to have more later game spells.

  • \$\begingroup\$ Could you clarify: do you ask about knowing, say, any level 4 spell before level 7, thus, having only level 1-2-3 spell slots? Or about knowing two level 4 spells while having only one level 4 slot? \$\endgroup\$
    – enkryptor
    Mar 20, 2017 at 9:12
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ It says in the first line i wanted to know if i could cast spells i don't have spells for yet? i am unsure what is unclear about it, its been answer anyway. \$\endgroup\$
    – True
    Mar 20, 2017 at 10:59

1 Answer 1


No, you can only learn spells of a level that you have spell slots for. From the Sorcerer's Spells Known feature:

The Spells Known column of the Sorcerer table shows when you learn more sorcerer spells of your choice. Each of these spells must be of a level for which you have spell slots. For instance, when you reach 3rd level in this class, you can learn one new spell of 1st or 2nd level.

However, you've said that your goal here is to stop learning low-level spells so that, later on when you can actually use them, you can have more high-level spells. Fortunately, there is a solution to this problem baked into the class.

Additionally, when you gain a level in this class, you can choose one of the sorcerer spells you know and replace it with another spell from the sorcerer spell list, which also must be of a level for which you have spell slots.

So, right now, you have to learn spells you can cast. However, as you gain levels, you can dump low-level spells in favour of higher-level spells. In this way, you can keep your stock of spells known relevant to you as you level. It also means you can try out spells you're not sure about and get rid of them if you don't like them.

  • \$\begingroup\$ Is the spell swap limited to one spell per level gain? \$\endgroup\$ Mar 20, 2017 at 18:57
  • \$\begingroup\$ @BradleyUffner Yep, exactly \$\endgroup\$
    – Miniman
    Mar 20, 2017 at 21:46

You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .