8
\$\begingroup\$

I was wondering if it's possible to use an attack action (ranged e.g.) and then when moving away (down a narrow corridor or the likes) dropping Ball bearings as a bonus action. Not sure if it counts as 'use object' action, as it seems plausible that you would be able to empty the bag behind you while running away.

\$\endgroup\$
13
\$\begingroup\$

This is answered in the ball bearing's description on page 151 of the PHB (some emphasis added):

Ball Bearings. As an action, you can spill these tiny metal balls from their pouch...

\$\endgroup\$
3
  • \$\begingroup\$ Ah.. Silly me, sometimes the asnwers are starring you right in the face :) Thanks mate. \$\endgroup\$ – Bachof Mar 23 '17 at 9:48
  • \$\begingroup\$ Presumably you could drop a bag of ball bearings, if already held, as the once-per-turn free object interaction. However, even if a few of them might spill logically, it would simply not have the same mechanical effect, any more than dropping a hand axe in the same way would count as a ranged thrown weapon attack with it against someone below you. \$\endgroup\$ – Neil Slater Mar 23 '17 at 14:55
  • 2
    \$\begingroup\$ As a DM, I'd say there's a difference between dropping and scattering. \$\endgroup\$ – chrylis -cautiouslyoptimistic- Mar 23 '17 at 16:22

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.