Can an imp speak while shape-changed? Another question on the same topic: is a shape-changed imp a beast?
The Imp has the following ability:
Shapechanger: The imp can use its action to polymorph into a beast form that resembles a rat (speed 20 ft.), a raven (20 ft., fly 60 ft.), or a spider (20 ft., climb 20 ft.), or back into its true form. Its statistics are the same in each form, except for the speed changes noted.
The spell Polymorph states:
The creature is limited in the actions it can perform by the nature of its new form, and it can't speak, cast spells, or take any other action that requires hands or speech.
So the obvious answer is that it counts as a beast and can't talk. However, it keeps all statistics (is languages and type included here?) and that it only polymorphs into a form resembling a beast, not that it polymorphs into a beast. Furthermore, is the shape-changing even using the same rules as the spell Polymorph?
Is there any consensus on what RAW should be? Any argument for what RAI is?