3
\$\begingroup\$

When a druid casts Insect Plague, is the save DC of the swarm's Distraction ability 12 (what's written in the MM), or is it based on the 5th level druid spell (15+ability)?

\$\endgroup\$
5
\$\begingroup\$

DC12

The target isn't saving against your spell -- it saves against the creature's attack, so there is obviously no point in using 15+ability save. The spell has no saving throw itself. A summoned creature acts just like a normal creature in this context unless clearly stated otherwise.

Note that the save isn't 12, per se, it's 13+Con mod. This matters if you have Augment Summoning or the swarm's Сonstitution is otherwise changed from the default of 8.

\$\endgroup\$

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.