This question is on the Spell Thief, a homebrew class presented by Middle Finger of Vecna, and its ability to steal spells.

When the ability says "innate spellcasting feature" this means things like Dragons breath attacks and Beholders ray attacks right or a spell via Magic Initiate feat right? If so and then take for example the Spell Thief stole a Dragon's Breath attack, does it mean the dragon has a to roll to recharge its breath attack right before it can use it again thus literally robbing it of its use temporarily?

  • \$\begingroup\$ In the Homebrew section of MFV is where the Spell Thief is at in the Rogues' section/gui/icon/thingy. Sorry for the confusion. MFV is just the name of the group making the Homebrew material. I guess it's an inside joke for them or somethign. \$\endgroup\$ – Jhyarelle Silver Mar 26 '17 at 23:18
  • \$\begingroup\$ I edited your question a bit to make it clear that you are not referencing the 17th level Arcane Trickster ability, and instead are talking about third party material \$\endgroup\$ – keithcurtis Mar 26 '17 at 23:18
  • \$\begingroup\$ It appears that you have two related questions. I would suggest editing them and this one so that the question is clear in the title, to help other users who are searching for answers. "Question about X, part 2" doesn't mean much to a search engine. \$\endgroup\$ – keithcurtis Mar 26 '17 at 23:20

No. This means exactly what it says. Many monsters have a feature called Innate Spellcasting. For example, the Storm Giant has:

Innate Spellcasting. The giant’s innate spellcasting ability is Charisma (spell save DC 17). It can innately cast the following spells, requiring no material components:

| improve this answer | |

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.