4
\$\begingroup\$

A 9th level paladin activating his weapon's Divine Bond grants him +2 enhancement bonus to be used as he desired:

These bonuses can be added to the weapon, stacking with existing weapon bonuses to a maximum of +5, or they can be used to add any of the following weapon properties: axiomatic, brilliant energy, defending, disruption, flaming, flaming burst, holy, keen, merciful, and speed. Adding these properties consumes an amount of bonus equal to the property's cost

If I choose to add flaming burst, my weapon gets (emphasis mine):

flaming burst weapon functions as a flaming weapon that also explodes with flame upon striking a successful critical hit. [...] In addition to the extra fire damage from the flaming ability [...], a flaming burst weapon deals an extra 1d10 points of fire damage on a successful critical hit. [...]

Even if the flaming ability is not active, the weapon still deals its extra fire damage on a successful critical hit.

The way I interpret this, is that when I activate Divine Bond and choose flaming burst, I immediately gain the benefit of flaming burst (extra damage on crits). But the flaming ability still needs to be activated in order to gain its benefit (extra damage on regular hits).

But that seems clunky to me. Can someone tell me whether I will need to spend another standard action after Divine Bond to activate the flaming weapon ability?

\$\endgroup\$
  • 2
    \$\begingroup\$ [Related] Can the Pathfinder Magus add the Flaming/Frost/Shock enchantments pre-activated? \$\endgroup\$ – SevenSidedDie Mar 27 '17 at 15:02
  • \$\begingroup\$ @SevenSidedDie Thanks! I noticed searching for related questions is a lot harder on the Stack Exchange mobile app. I don't have access to the desktop for a while. I'm confident I would've found that question if I used the desktop website. \$\endgroup\$ – Marc Dingena Mar 28 '17 at 3:05
  • \$\begingroup\$ No problem! It's the upside of collective curation that someone will probably find and mention it. \$\endgroup\$ – SevenSidedDie Mar 28 '17 at 7:32
6
\$\begingroup\$

Yes, it is still required.

The class feature adds the e.g. Flaming property, and that property states that it needs to be activated as a command. Nothing in the text indicates that it works otherwise.

This is similar to the magus Arcane Pool feature, and you can find some discussion about it here.

\$\endgroup\$
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ Sucks but true, action economy is very bad for this. \$\endgroup\$ – ChibiNya Mar 27 '17 at 22:42

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.