When casting a lower level spell with a higher level spell slot, does that spell become that level for the casting or is it still considered a first level spell?

I'm specifically looking at the Disciple Of Life rule where the healing is 2 + the spell's level. If you cast good berry with a level 9 slot would it heal 12 hp per berry instead of 4 for being a level 1 spell?


1 Answer 1


Yes, goodberry will heal 12 hp per berry if cast using a 9th level slot.

When a spellcaster casts a spell using a slot that is of a higher level than the spell, the spell assumes the higher level for that casting. For instance, if Umara casts magic missile using one of her 2nd‑level slots, that magic missile is 2nd level. Effectively, the spell expands to fill the slot it is put into.

So if you cast goodberry with a 9th level spell slot, it will be a 9th level spell, and Disciple of Life will treat it as such.


Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .