5
\$\begingroup\$

It's my first time in 5E D&D and I have played 3.5 before as a DM. I am playing as a high elf Rogue at level 1, and because I'm a High Elf I get a wizard cantrip. Can I attack with my rapier then use shocking grasp in the same turn?

\$\endgroup\$
18
\$\begingroup\$

The "Attack" action and the "Cast a Spell" action are two completely different actions, you only get 1 action per round barring specific class features. As a result unless otherwise specified no you cannot both cast shocking grasp and attack with a weapon on the same turn. (That is kinda Eldritch Knight's shindig.)

\$\endgroup\$
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ Looks good! Thanks for the quick response. \$\endgroup\$ – SevenSidedDie Mar 29 '17 at 19:17
  • 6
    \$\begingroup\$ A sorcerer could quicken the cantrip, as another example of a class feature. \$\endgroup\$ – Derek Stucki Mar 29 '17 at 19:27
6
\$\begingroup\$

Both attacking and casting a spell use up your action, so there's no way you can do both on the same turn, it's not Two-Weapon Fighting.

The Eldritch Knight Fighter archetype specifically allows you to perform this combination, as do the cantrips presented in the Sword Coast Adventurer's Guide for Bladesinger. Holding a Rapier won't affect your capability of using spells with the other hand in any way if you want to use both during a battle.

\$\endgroup\$
  • \$\begingroup\$ When you say cantrips in the Unearthed Arcana for Bladesinger, do you mean Sword Coast Adventurer's Guide? \$\endgroup\$ – user27327 Mar 30 '17 at 2:34
  • 3
    \$\begingroup\$ Is that where they are from? My bad. I'll fix. I almost forgot 5e actually had some published splat! \$\endgroup\$ – ChibiNya Mar 30 '17 at 2:41

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.