2
\$\begingroup\$

The Spear Dancing Style chain of feats (Specifically Spear Dancing Style itself), allows the use of any spear or polearm as a double weapon.

If you chose a one-handed weapon, such as the Trident, Short Spear or Sibat, could you then wield one spear in each hand and use Spear Dancing Style with both? (effectively quad-wielding)

Obviously something like the Fighter Advanced Weapon Training Effortless Dual-Wielding or similar would be warranted.

\$\endgroup\$
2
\$\begingroup\$

No.

The Double special weapon quality allows you to fight as if fighting with two weapons (a one-handed weapon and a light weapon). Since you can't use two weapons in one hand, you can't use a double weapon as a double weapon with one hand.

Your scenario is essentially the same as dual-wielding small quarterstaffs (with a size penalty, of course). You're still limited to one attack each with your main- and off-hand weapons.

Using a double weapon in each hand lets you make one attack with each; using a double weapon with Spear Dancer Style lets you make two attacks with one weapon.

\$\endgroup\$
2
\$\begingroup\$

No.

The double special weapon features reads:

Double: You can use a double weapon to fight as if fighting with two weapons, but if you do, you incur all the normal attack penalties associated with fighting with two weapons, just as if you were using a one-handed weapon and a light weapon.

Two weapon fighting reads:

If you wield a second weapon in your off hand, you can get one extra attack per round with that weapon.

So if you are wielding 2 one-handed double weapons, you still only get one extra attack in your full-attack.

A point of ambiguity can be with which weapon you get that extra attack, since I can see arguments made for the second end of the main-spear as well as the primary end of the off-hand spear, but that does not change the fact that you would only get a single extra attack.

Personally I would let you choose which weapon you wanted the extra attack to be with.

\$\endgroup\$
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ Presumably a creature can use such a 1-handed double weapon as a double weapon in one hand, though, right? And just carry a shield or whatever in the other? \$\endgroup\$ – Hey I Can Chan Mar 31 '17 at 17:07
  • \$\begingroup\$ I honestly don't know, it could go either way. The only RAW double weapons are 2-handed, so I don't think it was a situation considered in the design. \$\endgroup\$ – GreySage Mar 31 '17 at 17:17

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.