17
\$\begingroup\$

Can you use Extend Spell Meta Magic more than once? Meaning can you pay more SP to extend the duration by one factor?

EX: 1SP = Spell Duration of minute last 1 minute becomes 10 minutes, 3SP 1 hour, 4SP 8 Hours, 5 SP 24 hours

\$\endgroup\$
  • 5
    \$\begingroup\$ why would spending 1SP extend from 1min to 10min? Per Extended Spell spending 1SP would extend from 1min to 2min. \$\endgroup\$ – nitsua60 Apr 3 '17 at 1:05
  • 4
    \$\begingroup\$ To put it differently, what source are you getting that definition of Extended Spell from? \$\endgroup\$ – Miniman Apr 3 '17 at 1:06
25
\$\begingroup\$

No, you can't. In general, you can only use one metamagic, once, on any spell.

You can use only one Metamagic option on a spell when you cast it, unless otherwise noted.

The only such note is this one, on Empowered Spell:

You can use Empowered Spell even if you have already used a different Metamagic option during the casting of the spell.

In particular, Extended Spell has no such note.

When you cast a spell that has a duration of 1 minute or longer, you can spend 1 sorcery point to double its duration, to a maximum duration of 24 hours.

So no, you can only Extend a spell once. Also, Extended Spell doesn't work the way you seem to think it does. All it does is double the duration, not increase the duration by "factors".

\$\endgroup\$
4
\$\begingroup\$

No, you can only use a metamagic option once per spell.

This question is explicitly addressed in the Sage Advice Compendium:

Metamagic rules state you can’t use multiple Metamagic options on a single spell. Can you use one option multiple times?

A sorcerer can use one Metamagic option once in the casting of a spell, not the same option more than once. For instance, a sorcerer can’t quadruple the duration of a spell by spending 2 sorcery points on Extended Spell.

This fits with the explicitly stated restriction that you can only use one Metamagic option on a spell when you cast it; likewise, you can only use that option once on a spell you cast (it doesn't stack with itself).

\$\endgroup\$
2
\$\begingroup\$

The intent is No

Jeremy Crawford says that is not the intention of the Metamagic.

Revenant_Fury @Revenant_Fury

@JeremyECrawford Metamagic rules state you can't use multiple Metamagic options on a single spell. Can you use one option, multiple times?

11:17 AM - 7 Aug 2015


Jeremy Crawford @JeremyECrawford

The intent is that a sorcerer can use a Metamagic option once with a spell, not the same option more than once. https://twitter.com/Revenant_Fury/status/629491521872633856 …

1:39 PM - 7 Aug 2015

However, RAW does not seem to restrict it

The following rule forbids you from using Quickened Spell and Extended Spell on the same casting, because QS and TS are different options.

You can use only one Metamagic option on a spell when you cast it, unless otherwise noted.

It does not say: you can apply only one Metamagic effect on a spell when you cast it, unless otherwise noted or any similar language which generally forbids more than one application of a Metamagic ability on a spell; only the prevention of using more than one Metamagic option.

Extended Spell is the same Metamagic option as Extended Spell (obviously). The rules apply only when the options are different. RAW does not forbid you from stacking Extended Spell on the same casting.

\$\endgroup\$
  • \$\begingroup\$ It depends on how strict or loose your interpretation. You are allowed to use one option. The option you choose allows you to spend one sorcery point to double the duration. It does not allow you to spend two points to quadruple it, etc. \$\endgroup\$ – Nick Brown Jan 31 '18 at 1:18
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ @NickBrown if you use one option twice, you "use only one Metamagic option on a spell". \$\endgroup\$ – András Nov 17 '18 at 20:38

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.