20
\$\begingroup\$

The triton's Control Air and Water feature says that:

Once you cast a spell with this trait, you can't do so again until you finish a long rest.

Does that mean a triton can only cast one spell using this trait per long rest, or can they cast each of their spells once per long rest?

\$\endgroup\$
15
\$\begingroup\$

The phrasing is ambiguous, but the intent is once each:

Ian Tomlin‏ @zanderkreegan · 13 Nov 2016
@JeremyECrawford can a 5th level triton cast each spell they have from their racial once per long rest, or can they cast one of them?


Jeremy Crawford‏ @JeremyECrawford · 14 Nov 2016
A triton can cast each spell in Control Air and Water. #DnD

\$\endgroup\$
  • 3
    \$\begingroup\$ I wonder why he didn't finish that sentence with "per long rest," since that was the question asked? I find the tweet as vague as the point Miniman was asking about. \$\endgroup\$ – KorvinStarmast Apr 6 '17 at 16:00
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ I think he's referring back to the text used in the question. The question is effectively "Can they cast each spell, or one of them?" Answer: "They can cast each". The per long rest is implied from the context given in the question. \$\endgroup\$ – Marijn Stevering Apr 7 '17 at 9:58
3
\$\begingroup\$

It says "a spell" so I guess it means "a spell" i.e. one of them and you're done.

If they wanted to indicate you could cast each of the spells once they would have said so.

\$\endgroup\$

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.