0
\$\begingroup\$

I am playing a Synthesist summoner level 7. I am thinking of taking 6 levels in skald to get the Linnorm Death Curse, Taiga rage power but i am not sure if it would activate while using raging song when my eidolon dies.

\$\endgroup\$
  • \$\begingroup\$ Welcome to the site. Take the tour. While you've already a couple of answers to this question (one of them mine!), it might also be useful to explain why you're entertaining this idea for your character. Thank you for participating and have fun. \$\endgroup\$ – Hey I Can Chan Apr 9 '17 at 15:22
2
\$\begingroup\$

The skald rage power taiga linnorm death curse says, "The [affected] character’s melee attacks deal an additional 1 point of electricity damage. If the [affected] character is knocked unconscious or killed by an attack or spell, the attacker suffers the curse of electricity." The rage power then goes on to describe the curse of electricity: a failed Will saving throw means the attacker gains electricity vulnerability.

While a synthesist summoner's fused eidolon cannot be knocked unconscious, it can be killed: "The synthesist gains the eidolon’s hit points as temporary hit points [and w]hen these hit points reach 0, the eidolon is killed and sent back to its home plane." So if a skald's supernatural ability raging song is used for the supernatural ability inspired rage to grant the fused eidolon the rage power taiga linnorm death curse and the synthesist summoner's eidolon is subsequently killed, the rage power should function normally.


An Aside: This is extremely suboptimal

Unless either the party is similarly unoptimized or the summoner is vastly overshadowing the remainder of the party or everyone else in the party is throwing around huge amounts of electricity damage, there's very little reason to make this sort of investment. The rage power taiga linnorm death curse base effect (the extra electricity damage) is trivial (especially at the proposed level 13!), and the curse itself only has the possibility of affecting one enemy if an ally is removed from the encounter!

A typical summoner will be much better served by taking six more levels of summoner than by taking six levels of skald solely to acquire and share this rage power with his eidolon.

\$\endgroup\$
  • \$\begingroup\$ If the summoner (or someone else in the party) summons minions wouldn't they gain the rage power, too when raging song is active? That could be a use if it works like that. but it would still be suboptimal. \$\endgroup\$ – Umbranus Apr 13 '17 at 6:50
  • \$\begingroup\$ @Umbranus O, sure, that's a use, but, yeah, it's still a pretty bad use, what with the curse having a save DC of 10 + ½ the creature's HD +the creature's Cha modifier (summon a high-Charisma monster for this?) and the noncumulative nature of electricity vulnerability. Even in weird and contrived scenarios, I am not seeing how this alone justifies lighting on fire 6 levels of a previously fine PC's career. \$\endgroup\$ – Hey I Can Chan Apr 13 '17 at 9:46
  • \$\begingroup\$ @HeyICanChan the eidolon cannot be target of this because he cannot be affected by the Skald's rage song. \$\endgroup\$ – ShadowKras Apr 27 '17 at 13:40
  • \$\begingroup\$ @ShadowKras But when both of them are affected and one of them dies, a creature affected has still died, right? And the effect isn't specifically targeted? (I hadn't dug into the synthesist's exceptions like you have, so I'm happy to be wrong.) \$\endgroup\$ – Hey I Can Chan Apr 27 '17 at 13:44
  • \$\begingroup\$ Your character is affected by inspired song, not the eidolon. \$\endgroup\$ – ShadowKras Apr 27 '17 at 13:45
1
\$\begingroup\$

Yes, if your Eidolon is killed while under the effect of a Linnorm Death Curse rage power, the curse will be applied to whoever killed the Eidolon. The specific interaction of wording:

If the character is knocked unconscious or killed by an attack or spell, the attacker suffers the curse of electricity (Will negates).

and

The synthesist gains the eidolon’s hit points as temporary hit points. When these hit points reach 0, the eidolon is killed and sent back to its home plane.

A better question might be - why would you ever allow your fused eidolon to be killed in this way, when you can use Fused Link to sacrifice from your own hit points and keep it alive? Presumably being fused with your Eidolon is the basis of much of your combat effectiveness and it seems unlikely that giving an enemy a chance of becoming vulnerable to electricity is worth sacrificing the benefits that the fusion gives you. Fused Link allows you to keep the Eidolon alive until you must both go down.

\$\endgroup\$
0
\$\begingroup\$

No, it wouldn't

Your eidolon cannot be targeted by any effects while you two are a single creature and anything that would affect the eidolon will affect your character instead (with exceptions, see this answer).

Neither the synthesist nor his eidolon can be targeted separately, as they are fused into one creature.

This is explained on a FAQ item aswell.

So, if the eidolon cannot the targeted by your Inspired Rage, whenever it reaches 0 hit points and dies, there is no eletricity damage on the attacker because the eidolon wasn't affected by the rage power.

\$\endgroup\$

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.