6
\$\begingroup\$

The title pretty much says it all – let’s say there is an effect that can destroy objects. If an archer fires an arrow and it intersects this effect, does the arrow get to use the archer’s saves until it reaches its destination, or does it just count as an unattended item at that point?

\$\endgroup\$
10
\$\begingroup\$

Carrying, Movement and Exploration defines attended as:

An item attended by a character (being grasped, touched, or worn)...

The arrow, while in flight, is none of those, so it's unattended. Only if the archer uses a magic arrow, does the item receive a save anyway. (Enchanted bows bestow their properties upon their ammunition, but the arrows only count as magical for the purposes of damage reduction).

|improve this answer|||||
\$\endgroup\$
  • \$\begingroup\$ Thanks. This is coming up in concern to how Vow of Peace works with its effect of shattering manufactured weapons that contact the character. \$\endgroup\$ – Wannabe Warlock Apr 11 '17 at 20:01

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.