I was thinking of making my level 6 sorcerer part wizard. But at level 6 my Sorcerer knows 5 cantrips and looking at the multiclass spell table, he'd have 4 when he's a 7th level multiclass caster.

Does he forget 1 cantrip?

  • \$\begingroup\$ The table you are referencing is the table of spell slots per level, not spells known. Also, the value of 4 you are mentioning is for Lv1 Spells, not for cantrips \$\endgroup\$ – Cristol.GdM Apr 13 '17 at 10:03
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ @Cristol.GdM You should post that as an answer, not a comment. \$\endgroup\$ – Szega Apr 13 '17 at 10:06
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ @Cristol.GdM On the other hand, if the character is as old as I am, he may have forgotten one. 8^D (But I think effects of aging might be an optional or variant rule ...) \$\endgroup\$ – KorvinStarmast Apr 13 '17 at 13:27
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ @Szega Dale M's answer already covered everything I would have said, didn't see the point in repeating it. And I try to avoid using answers to point out wrong assumptions in the question \$\endgroup\$ – Cristol.GdM Apr 13 '17 at 13:32

PHB p. 164

You determine what spells you know and prepare for each class individually, as if you were a single classed member of that class.

Your Sorcerer 6/Wizard 1 knows 5 Sorcerer cantrips and 3 Wizard. For completeness, you know 7 Sorcerer spells and 6 Wizard.

  • \$\begingroup\$ Ohh, I see my mistake! Thought the far left column on that table was cantrips, but it's 1st level spells. ^^' My bad. Thanks! \$\endgroup\$ – Lockles Apr 13 '17 at 10:16
  • 2
    \$\begingroup\$ Notably, @Lockles, that table describes spell slots, not spells known. \$\endgroup\$ – Gregory Avery-Weir Apr 13 '17 at 15:45

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.