-3
\$\begingroup\$

I'm playing a ranger in a 5e D&D campaign with dual-weapon fighting proficiency.

Assuming I draw some weapon when combat starts, which weapon do I draw by default (e.g., bow, daggers, do I pick)?

Does this change case-by-case?

\$\endgroup\$
  • \$\begingroup\$ Related, rpg.stackexchange.com/questions/98042/… \$\endgroup\$ – Michał Politowski Apr 14 '17 at 8:16
  • \$\begingroup\$ @MichaƂPolitowski see this as sort of a follow up question to that one. There the question is do I automatically draw a weapon. My question is what weapon do I draw. \$\endgroup\$ – Jappieman Apr 14 '17 at 8:33
  • 2
    \$\begingroup\$ @Jappieman The consensus on that question seems to be that it's situational and 5e doesn't go into this detail. As it stands I don't understand how this question isn't a duplicate \$\endgroup\$ – Ceribia Apr 14 '17 at 8:35
0
\$\begingroup\$

You do not automatically draw a weapon, but you can use your free object interaction on your turn to draw a weapon of your choice. So, it's completely up to you.

|improve this answer|||||
\$\endgroup\$
  • \$\begingroup\$ 5e doesn't have "free actions". Creatures can interact with one object as part of their movement for the turn, and this can include drawing a weapon. \$\endgroup\$ – Marq Apr 14 '17 at 10:24
  • \$\begingroup\$ @MarkCogan: so.... That would be a "free" action then, no? FFS. \$\endgroup\$ – Jack Aidley Apr 14 '17 at 10:31
  • 3
    \$\begingroup\$ In the general senses of the words "free" and "action", yes. But "action" has a specific meaning in the context of the 5e combat rules, and "free action" had a specific meaning in prior editions of the game. In a strict rules sense -- and this was a rules question -- a character cannot "use their free action" to do anything, because they don't have a "free action". So your answer could be improved by using language that more accurately describes the actual rules for drawing weapons in 5e . \$\endgroup\$ – Marq Apr 14 '17 at 10:49
  • \$\begingroup\$ 5e allows you one object interaction per turn (PHB p. 190). It's only "free" in the sense that it does not ordinarily require your action/bonus/movement to be used, but it's still restricted. As the PHB notes in that same section, some of those interactions may change (situationally) to require an action at the DM's discretion. \$\endgroup\$ – JBC Apr 14 '17 at 13:37

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.