3
\$\begingroup\$

Can an alchemist/rogue with the rogue talent sniper's eye deal sneak attack damage with his bomb's splash damage?

\$\endgroup\$
  • \$\begingroup\$ I know there is the Archtype: Undergound Chemist: which allows at level 4 to get that ability but our DM did not allow archtypes to come into play until after a key point in the campaign and only when we have to make a new character --- [d20pfsrd.com/classes/core-classes/rogue/archetypes/… ] link for Underground Chemist \$\endgroup\$ – Kelduhar Apr 19 '17 at 22:30
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ You're welcome. Just cutting to the chase. And a heads-up: Don't worry about a downvote or two just because "[s]plash weapons cannot deal precision-based damage" (here); I think this is a great specific versus general question considering the very specific language of sniper's eye! \$\endgroup\$ – Hey I Can Chan Apr 19 '17 at 22:38
9
\$\begingroup\$

No, splash weapons are explicitly denied precision damage.

Splash weapons cannot deal precision-based damage (such as sneak attack).

The rogue talent Sniper's Eye only removes the prohibition against precision damage if the target benefits from concealment. It doesn't change the way that splash weapons work or affect anything other than the bolded parts below. It certainly does not allow carte blanche sneak attack with all ranged weapons.

Sneak Attack: ... The rogue must be able to see the target well enough to pick out a vital spot and must be able to reach such a spot. A rogue cannot sneak attack while striking a creature with concealment.

Sniper's Eye (Ex): A rogue with this talent can apply her sneak attack damage on ranged attacks targeting foes within 30 feet that benefit from concealment. Foes with total concealment are still immune.

There is a rogue archetype, Underground Chemist, which does explicitly allow precision damage with splash weapons, but only under certain narrow circumstances. It doesn't allow precision damage on top of the weapon's splash damage, however, only to the primary target and only on the first attack per round. If you threw two bombs in a round, and missed with the first but hit with the second, you would deal only the base bomb damage.

Precise Splash Weapons (Ex): At 4th level, an underground chemist can deal sneak attack damage with splash weapons. The attack must be her first attack in that round, must qualify to be a sneak attack (such as an attack against a flat-footed target), and must be directed at a creature rather than a square. This ability replaces the rogue talent gained at 4th level.

\$\endgroup\$
1
\$\begingroup\$

No.

The reason for this is located under thrown splash weapons.

Splash weapons cannot deal precision-based damage (such as the damage from the rogue’s sneak attack class feature).

The snipers eye does allow the sneak attack damage to be applied on ranged attacks, but as it is a general rule it fails to overcome the specific rule located there.

\$\endgroup\$
  • \$\begingroup\$ While in my gut I know this is correct, can the answer also explain why the general rules for splash weapons (which apply to everyone) overrule the specific talent sniper's eye (which only a few folks will have)? \$\endgroup\$ – Hey I Can Chan Apr 19 '17 at 23:20
  • \$\begingroup\$ Looks like the answer below mine is more complete on that front \$\endgroup\$ – Fering Apr 20 '17 at 0:16

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.