From Streetwise:

A street performer gains a bonus equal to half his level on Bluff, Disguise, Knowledge (local), and Sleight of Hand checks, Diplomacy or Intimidate checks made to influence crowds, and Diplomacy checks to gather information (minimum +1). This replaces bardic knowledge.

From Versatile Performance (Oratory - replaces Diplomacy):

He can use his bonus in that skill in place of his bonus in associated skills. When substituting in this way, the bard uses his total Perform skill bonus, including class skill bonus, in place of its associated skill's bonus,

Say I have a level 8 bard with an Oratory bonus of +18. Can I add the additional +4 from Streetwise to gather information as per Diplomacy, to make the gather information modifier a +22?

  • \$\begingroup\$ Wow, talk about a lack of consensus after 4 answers! \$\endgroup\$ – FrancisJohn Apr 30 '17 at 1:52

No. Based on the language of the Versatile Performance, you're replacing a Diplomacy roll (and any bonuses such a roll may incur) with a Perform (oratory) roll. By replacing the Diplomacy roll with a Versatile Performance, the bonus to Diplomacy does not apply, as it's a Perform (oratory) check. From the text for Versatile Performance:

When substituting in this way, the bard uses his total Perform skill bonus, including class skill bonus, in place of its associated skill’s bonus...

(Emphasis mine) If you're using Versatile Performance to make a Perform (oratory) check in place of a Diplomacy check, then no, they wouldn't stack, as the Streetwise class feature gives a bonus only to the Diplomacy bonus, which is replaced by Perform (oratory) in the event of a Versatile Performance.


Yes. When a bard is using versatile performance for diplomacy, it is still a diplomacy check. You are making a diplomacy check using a different bonus. Streetwise gives an untyped bonus to diplomacy checks. Bonuses of the same type don't stack, but this bonus is untyped.


No, the Versatile Performance allows you to use your entire Perform bonus in place of the entire bonus of your other skills.

If other bonuses still applied, it would indicate as such. It might indicate that you can use your Perform bonuses 'in addition to other bonuses'. As written, you don't use your existing bonuses in addition to your Perform ones.


Edit: I stand corrected; hoist by my own petard. The short answer is yes, for all the reasons I state below; Streetwise is an untyped bonus to the check, not the skill, so the bonuses stack.

Wasn't thinking; apologies.

original post:

The short answer is no.

The Versatile Performance effectively replaces the skill and skill bonuses of the target skill for a skill check; it does not grant you an actual skill bonus.

For example, if you have a magical lute that gives you a +4 bonus on your Perform (Stringed Instrument) check, you do not get to use that bonus for your Diplomacy check. But if you had a different magic item that gave you a +2 Diplomacy check bonus, you would use your Perform (Orate) bonus for the Diplomacy check with a +2 bonus from the magic item.

If you had a homebrewed magic item, say, that gave you a skill bonus instead of a check bonus, you could apply it to the substituted skill check.**

  • \$\begingroup\$ Welcome to the site! Every post keeps a record of its changes, so there's no need to mark your edits or include the original version of the post. This would be a good answer if it was rewritten again to directly answer the question without doing those things. \$\endgroup\$ – Oblivious Sage Apr 21 '17 at 0:44
  • \$\begingroup\$ I think this is a pretty questionable distinction. If you look at traits like "Extremely Fashionable", they use wording "you gain a +1 trait bonus on Bluff, Diplomacy, and Intimidate checks". But that's acting as a bonus on your skill check since it applies basically all the time. Is there a rule somewhere that shows this distinction? \$\endgroup\$ – Tridus Feb 16 '19 at 22:09

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.