The rules I found for Shock Trooper state (emphasis mine):

Heedless Charge: To use this maneuver, you must charge and make the attack at the end of the charge using your Power Attack feat. The penalty you take on your attack roll must be -5 or worse. In addition to normal charge modifiers (which give you a -2 penalty to AC and a +2 bonus on the attack roll), you can assign any portion of the attack roll penalty from Power Attack to your Armor Class instead, up to a maximum equal to your base attack bonus.

The way I understand this, you need to get at least -5 to hit from your Power Attack (which means you have a BAB of at least +16). However It seems people are not really considering this point when discussing the usefulness of Shock Trooper, so I am wondering: do I understand correctly this limitation?

  • 6
    \$\begingroup\$ You're quoting a feat from D&D 3.5 edition, in which Power Attack worked differently. In 3.5, you could take a -5 penalty as soon as you had 5 BAB. The sources you mention, are they specifically playing pathfinder? \$\endgroup\$
    – Erik
    Apr 21, 2017 at 9:26
  • \$\begingroup\$ I see! I was mistaken because of poorly reading some other question but now that makes complete sense. \$\endgroup\$ Apr 21, 2017 at 11:35
  • \$\begingroup\$ You might consider adjusting the question to accommodate what you now know. I mean, it's reasonable to ask How can a Pathfinder character effectively use the 3.5e feat Shock Trooper's heedless charge maneuver, given the changes Pathfinder makes to the feat Power Attack? \$\endgroup\$ Apr 21, 2017 at 12:05
  • \$\begingroup\$ It seems a bit artificial to me. I didn't need to use that feat in Pathfinder, just to understand what some guys in forums were talking about. \$\endgroup\$ Apr 21, 2017 at 13:01

1 Answer 1


Shock Trooper is a feat from 3.5 (and not from Pathfinder), and in D&D 3.5 Power Attack doesn't work the same way.

  • \$\begingroup\$ Perhaps also mention how power attack works in D&D 3; the user can select the attack penalty and damage bonus between 1 and their BAB. \$\endgroup\$
    – Tommi
    Apr 21, 2017 at 16:19
  • \$\begingroup\$ Yep. Show the differences and this answer will become much better. \$\endgroup\$
    – ShadowKras
    Apr 21, 2017 at 17:03
  • \$\begingroup\$ If i were to convert this, i would simply remove that phrase, its unnecessary in pathfinder. \$\endgroup\$
    – ShadowKras
    Apr 21, 2017 at 17:04

You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .