20
\$\begingroup\$

I have been told by people that you can't destroy magic items.

A net gives you the option in its rules.

Dealing 5 slashing damage to the net (AC 10) also frees the creature without harming it, ending the effect and destroying the net. (Basic Rules p. 47)

Can a magic net be destroyed?.

\$\endgroup\$
  • \$\begingroup\$ Oh apologizes i thought id just put both in one since they were such short questions and their are a few ways main one being Item Procurement from my faction choosing a net which is a martial ranged weapon \$\endgroup\$ – True Apr 25 '17 at 12:19
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ @True I've removed the extra question - it's already been asked and answered here, anyway. \$\endgroup\$ – Miniman Apr 25 '17 at 12:21
25
\$\begingroup\$

Yes, magic items can be destroyed.

The DMG has this to say about damaging magical items:

Most magic items are objects of extraordinary craftsmanship. Thanks to a combination of careful crafting and magical reinforcement, a magic item is at least as durable as a nonmagical item of its kind. Most magic items, other than potions and scrolls, have resistance to all damage. Artifacts are practically indestructible, requiring extraordinary measures to destroy.

So a magical net would generally have resistance to all damage, but would still come under the normal rules for nets, and could be destroyed by dealing 5 slashing damage (after its resistance was taken into account).

Note that these are just the baseline rules - all of this is up to your DM to determine, especially since a magical net is probably, although not necessarily, a homebrew item.

\$\endgroup\$

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.