I have been told by people that you can't destroy magic items.

A net gives you the option in its rules.

Dealing 5 slashing damage to the net (AC 10) also frees the creature without harming it, ending the effect and destroying the net. (Basic Rules p. 47)

Can a magic net be destroyed?.

  • \$\begingroup\$ Oh apologizes i thought id just put both in one since they were such short questions and their are a few ways main one being Item Procurement from my faction choosing a net which is a martial ranged weapon \$\endgroup\$
    – True
    Commented Apr 25, 2017 at 12:19
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ @True I've removed the extra question - it's already been asked and answered here, anyway. \$\endgroup\$
    – Miniman
    Commented Apr 25, 2017 at 12:21

1 Answer 1


Yes, magic items can be destroyed.

The DMG has this to say about damaging magical items:

Most magic items are objects of extraordinary craftsmanship. Thanks to a combination of careful crafting and magical reinforcement, a magic item is at least as durable as a nonmagical item of its kind. Most magic items, other than potions and scrolls, have resistance to all damage. Artifacts are practically indestructible, requiring extraordinary measures to destroy.

So a magical net would generally have resistance to all damage, but would still come under the normal rules for nets, and could be destroyed by dealing 5 slashing damage (after its resistance was taken into account).

Note that these are just the baseline rules - all of this is up to your DM to determine, especially since a magical net is probably, although not necessarily, a homebrew item.


You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .