2
\$\begingroup\$

I know that druids can use wild form to shapeshift into animals with wild form, but is there a way for others to shapeshift too, without multi-classing?

\$\endgroup\$
9
\$\begingroup\$

Yes

The spells polymorph, true polymorph and shapechange allow you to take on another form. The Monster Manual also has rules for player-infliced lycanthropy, which can cause a transformation.

\$\endgroup\$
2
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ I think it's important to note that the spells do not make you a "shapeshifter," whereas lycanthropy does. This distinction makes a difference for a handful of spells. \$\endgroup\$
    – Icyfire
    Apr 28 '17 at 0:09
  • \$\begingroup\$ Important to note that some of these options change your mental stats, so don't expect to change into a bear with Polymorph and execute complex tactical maneuvers. \$\endgroup\$
    – Slagmoth
    Apr 28 '17 at 14:34
4
\$\begingroup\$

The Polymorph spell can allow it:

Polymorph

This spell transforms a creature with at least 1 hit point that you can see within range into a new form. An unwilling creature must make a Wisdom saving throw to avoid the effect. A shapechanger automatically succeeds on this saving throw.

I don't see why this could not be used on yourself, to allow you to change.

This means that anyone that has access to this spell, can transform at will (provided they have the necessary components, spell slots etc.). Classes that have access to this spell in 5e are: Bard, Druid, Sorcerer, Wizard

\$\endgroup\$

You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .