16
\$\begingroup\$

How many Opportunity Attacks (OA) does a PC get per round?

Example: if multiple foes go by a PC engaged in combat, and leaves their weapon reach, does the PC get an OA against each creature that goes by it?

Moving Around Other Creatures

If you leave a hostile creature’s reach during your move, you provoke an opportunity attack ...(Basic Rules p. 71:)

Opportunity Attack

You can make an opportunity attack when a hostile creature that you can see moves out of your reach. (Basic Rules p. 73)

\$\endgroup\$
34
\$\begingroup\$

You only get ONE reaction between the start of your turn and the start of your next turn.

An Opportunity Attack is considered a Reaction (PHB pp195)

You can make an opportunity attack when a hostile creature that you can see moves out of your reach. To make the opportunity attack, you use your reaction to make one melee attack against the provoking creature.

The Rules on Reactions are as follows (PHB pp190)

When you take a reaction, you can't take another one until the start of your next turn.

To clarify for you and your players: not only do you only get one attempt at an Opportunity Attack with your reaction, but it also means that you have spent your reaction. That means other movement that might trigger an Opportunity Attack for you would not because you no longer have your reaction; and other spells/abilities/etc that utilize a reaction (like Shield, Featherfall, Counterspell) would also no longer be an option as you have used your reaction.

What is a round?

Although initiative is ordered from highest to lowest, that isn't what the technical round is for your character. A round is from the start of your turn to the start of your next turn.

From Jeremy Crawford on Twitter Sage Advice

To the reaction rule, a round is measured from the start of your turn. You could take a reaction, then again after your turn starts.

\$\endgroup\$
  • 5
    \$\begingroup\$ Shouldn't that read "one reaction per round"? \$\endgroup\$ – Tim Grant May 1 '17 at 21:13
  • \$\begingroup\$ Technically, you could take two reactions in a round if your initiative is anywhere in the middle of the order. \$\endgroup\$ – aebabis May 1 '17 at 21:47
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ @KorvinStarmast it's a semantic issue. You reset your counter at the start of your turn. But the round is technically (?) from highest initiative to lowest. Of you're in the middle of the order, it seems like you may have more than reaction in that you could have one at the start of round 2, use it before you go, get another one at the start of your turn and use it before the highest initiative begins again. However, I think another way of thinking round is from the start of your turn until the start of your next turn. \$\endgroup\$ – NautArch May 1 '17 at 23:02
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ @acbabis what might be useful is to draw it in a circle around the whiteboard, maybe with a magnet that can be used as a "clock hand" that goes around it. \$\endgroup\$ – Random832 May 2 '17 at 0:37
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ Good edit. It’s clear now. \$\endgroup\$ – Tim Grant May 2 '17 at 1:46
5
\$\begingroup\$

One per reaction, unless a feature says otherwise

For instance, the Tunnel Fighter feat says

you can make opportunity attacks without using your reaction

Since you don't use your reaction in this case, you can make several OA per turn with Tunnel Fighter. Otherwise, you make only one or zero OA per turn, as NautArch said, providing you still have your reaction and you can use it (there are several abilities, preventing creatures from taking reactions, like the Shocking Grasp spell).

There are also "OA-like" attacks, like the Sentinel's feature:

When a creature within 5 feet of you makes an attack against a target other than you (and that target doesn't have this feat), you can use your reaction to make a melee weapon attack against the attacking creature

But it also expends your reaction (hence, can be done only once), despite it is not an opportunity attack, and it does not trigger any "when you hit a creature with an opportunity attack" features.

\$\endgroup\$

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.